The vagueness of age

IMG_4379Here’s a wonderful proposal:  I think perhaps I know too much to be decisive or speak clearly.

The young can make assertive claims of what the truth is.  They really believe it, they are believable, and if later they find out they are wrong, it is no big deal.

When I am asked a question, I tend to say things like, “well, as a rule, I would say that is the truth, but I have frequently seen the rule broken without any consequences, so perhaps it is OK to break the rule and go for it with what you want to do.”  I said something like that at a meeting yesterday and was mocked by the woman who makes my life difficult.  OK.

This morning my boss asked me a question and I started doing that with her.  She asked me to stop second guessing and just tell her what I thought without worrying that it is wrong.  OK.

When you have lived for a long time and been in the work force for a large percentage of that time, you have come across many variables.  They seem to come out of the blue at times.  I have seen this and I have seen that.  I wouldn’t be so sure of this and I wouldn’t be so sure of that.  All they want to hear is a “yes,” or “no.”  I can’t seem to do it.

So, I am at my dining room table working today.  Yesterday when I heard that a meeting scheduled for today was canceled, I immediately blocked out the day for a work at home day.  I have been working since 7 a.m., this is my break.  Maybe it should be the end of the day, but I still have lots of work to do.

It has been snowing since last evening and there is a lot of snow out there.  It is a good day to be indoors.  Maybe this will make a dent in our drought.  I hope.

Random thoughts for today…

 

This entry was posted in History, Junk-blogging, Weather, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The vagueness of age

  1. Syd says:

    I am fairly decisive and don’t hedge much. I realize that there are outliers in just about everything, but if asked about something, then I simply state what I think. Caution is good or perhaps thinking in terms of probability. That reminds me of the Zero Dark Thirty movie in which the probabilities of OBL were discussed. I would be like the young lady and say 99% if I truly thought so.

  2. Ellen says:

    Could we just say the wisdom of age? I get what you’re saying entirely. Often people at work look for that slick, easy response that makes you look smart, when the truth isn’t like that.

  3. Chenai says:

    Mary!
    I would say your ability to always factor in exceptions to the rule is a gift. It is valued in many positions where people are required to map out all possible scenarios, even when the probability of that occurring is low. I mean, it makes sense to talk about such things any time someone wants you to make a recommendation, right?

    I’m sorry that we youngsters are so frustrating.

  4. atomicmomma says:

    Stephen Colbert had a hilarious bit a few years ago about truth vs. “truthiness”. You should look it up if you don’t know about it. It’s exactly what you are dealing with here.

Leave a Reply

