Thursday

IMG_4357I changed my settings for photos over the weekend when I posted the photo of the cross, which I think might be one of the best photos I have ever taken.  I wanted it to be large.  But I haven’t changed it back, and I am in such a hurry I can’t right now.  (could have in the time I wrote that though.  sigh)

I made it through one day as a vegan yesterday.  There were sweet rolls at work, which I was able to pass on.  There was pizza at the hospital when I went to a meeting there, I was also able to pass on that.   I don’t think this is as easy as being a vegetarian, but I will give it a try.

Someone asked about my former preference for a low carb diet.  I pondered that.  I did a low carb, high protein diet for years.  I felt good.  I felt satisfied with the food.  My lipid panels were good.  And my weight was stable, and acceptable.  But I strayed from that last year – actually I went on a crazy diet to lose a quick 20 lbs. – and my diet started staying as the year passed – I didn’t gain the weight back though.

In August, I was suffering terribly with my arthritic hands and back.  I quickly looked into changes I could make to decrease inflammation.  Meat seemed to be a big contributor.  So I quit eating meat.  It helped, really it did.  As I was living without meat, I started to consider the meat industry, what it does to the environment, what they do to the animals, and all the chemicals and hormones I was ingesting when I ate meat.  The weirdest thing was that I didn’t miss meat.  I used to LOVE a steak – at least once a week.  I absolutely do not miss that, and the thought of a bloody piece of meat makes me feel kind of ill.

Now I am thinking that getting rid of dairy might also get rid of some more inflammation.  I would also love to know that I am not contributing to the whole eating animals and their milk and eggs thing.  I am not sure I can do it, but I did it for one day yesterday.

I am running late for work, so I better go.  Thanks again for your comments, they are wonderful.

The grace of the Lord Jesus be with all the saints. Amen.  — Revelation 22:21

 

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thursday

  1. Syd says:

    Eating several small meals a day is a good thing. We make sure to have a good breakfast and then have some healthy snacks during the day. No longer eating meat here either. Nice tulip photo.

  2. Katiegirl says:

    I read you every day.. I am an alanon, retired teacher, in the midst of a divorce after 40 year tumultuous marriage. Found your blog through Syd. Wishing you well.

  3. Vanessa Campbell says:

    I too read every one of your posts. You are an inspiration to me…just living life daily sober is such an inspiration…even with your ups and downs. Thank you sooooo much for the time you have put into blogging, it has really saved my life.

  4. Daisyanon says:

    I read all your posts as well, followed you here from your previous blog, so I have been reading you daily for several years. You have a great gift for showing us the ordinary details of your life through a spiritual lens. I love your honesty. I don’t comment much because I have little to say and saying variants of ‘right on’ seems repetitive. Also I haven’t wanted to say anything that would hit a wrong note with regards to your depression as I have no experience of depression of that magnitude.

  5. Jeanne says:

    Thanks MC, I had no idea that meat and dairy would inflame my arthritis, good tips. J

  6. trudysmom says:

    Thank you for the heart and soul you put into the words you share here. I read almost every day, but don’t think I’ve ever commented. I found you through Syd’s blog, but return here because I love (hate?) to run, usually love (sometimes hate) my job, and love (am learning to live with) an alcoholic. Your words always make me think twice. Thank you.
    Trudy’s Mom

  7. Mj kelly says:

    Hi Mary,

    I too read you every day. You are such a wonderful writer and touch on so many topics. I think you should write a book ! I would miss you if you stopped blogging. You have helped me more than you know .

    MJ from MA

  8. Millie says:

    I read you because I like you and I think you’re cool. I check in to see how you’re doing because although I don’t know you, I care.

  9. Chenai says:

    Hi Mary,
    One day as a vegan and turning down all that temptation. Way to go! I am often making declarations about ways to change my lifestyle and it seems I can’t seem to stick to many of them. Luckily for you (as I know from my short-lived stint) being a vegan is not like it used to be because there are lots of options in grocery stores. Not sure how healthy many of them are, but they don’t have animal products so that’s something. Going into the weekend, I hope you have some relaxing plans ahead. Always looking forward to your posts.

Leave a Reply

