Weekday Morning

IMG_6011The first flower of the season is blooming in my little garden.  We have the up and down, hot and cold weather of a Colorado spring.  Sunday was glorious, sunny and in the 60s.

We had a wonderful Easter.  Mass with a friend at 6:30 a.m., then breakfast at her house, with her elderly parents, her lifelong friend and the friend’s family.  Including a 15 year old girl in a wheelchair, grateful for everything.  She is about to be confirmed and so thrilled about that. I got her a confirmation card and you would think I gave her a million dollars.  She calls me “Groovy Mary.”  She would be a good teacher for me.

Then my family here, in two shifts.  I got to see the two babies.  I got to make another Easter basket.  I got to see a tiny girl’s face light up when she saw it.

I found out over the weekend that due to paperwork errors that I shan’t go into here, the person who took my job will keep it and I will stay where I am.  It will likely take a year or more to get rid of him now.

I feel better and I think I can get through this.  I will just take it One Day at a Time.  And thank God for it.

And can I please ask, if you are reading could you leave a comment?  It doesn’t even have to make sense, maybe just “hi”.  I just don’t know if there is any point in my taking time out of my day to do this if no one is reading.  Thank you.

This entry was posted in Family, Feasts, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Weekday Morning

  1. sandalful@aol.com says:

    Hi Mary,
    Thanks for sharing your journeys……..your very inspirational and I look forward to reading your posts. Have a great day!

    Sandra

  2. Eay says:

    Hi Mary,

    I have followed you for many years and you always pick me up when I feel blue.

    Thanks for being there.

    Ray

  3. jackie says:

    Mornin’ Ms Mary!!! We’re all here. I suspect busy schedules, like mine allow a minute to stop by to catch up with you. Keep on, keeping on as I, for one, love reading your daily updates. mwaaaah!

  4. Annette says:

    Ugh….about the paperwork error. Thank God in heaven that you didn’t feel the surety of the “out” of your old job and burn any bridges at your new…as I would have had you do. LOL

  5. sherylswool says:

    Hi. You have one of the few blogs I look to every day for inspiration and connection.
    Thank you.

  6. kel says:

    Hi. Ive been reading you daily for years. 🙂

  7. Nancy G says:

    Mary Christine, I look forward to reading your blog each day. You have taught me much about your faith which is quite interesting for this ol’ protestant. Keep on sharing ‘cuz we love hearing from you!

  8. Chenai says:

    Hi Mary! Because you asked for a comment, I will leave one. I am glad that you had such a wonderful easter and that you were inspired by that girl. I actually watched a very interesting film called the Intouchables. It’s in French (with subtitles) and it’s about a man who lives in a wheelchair and can’t move anything but his head. Well, it’s about his friendship with the young, kind of wild African guy who he hires to take care of him. I am always amazed and inspired by people who can be optimistic and have the strength to live when such tragic things happen to them. To me, you are actually one of those people. Even though you are depressed, and sometimes your pain seems so much to bear, you get up and you live every single day. It’s inspiring to me. Have a wonderful day!

  9. Ellen says:

    Hi Mary – I am reading along. Not religious and not AA. Something about your story must be resonating with me though. I like your garden! Maybe that we’re a similar age and circumstance, and I too struggle with work. All the best.

  10. Lisa says:

    Hi Mary,
    I have read your blog for ~1 year. I admire your honesty and faith. I worry and pray for you when you are depressed, and root for you with your employer. I hope you will keep sharing.

  11. Syd says:

    MC, I read every post and comment too. I am so glad that you had a good Easter and good weather!

  12. sue tegland says:

    Your strength is an inspiration to me. Glad you had a good Easter, and the flower is a reward for faith.

  13. MC says:

    Hi from England.
    Thank you so much for doing what you are doing-you give a lot of us hope.
    God bless!

  14. Jeanne says:

    MC,
    The joy of Easter and the patience of a child shall sustain you. Keep being Groovy Mary!

    Jeanne

  15. Lulu says:

    Hi from East Texas. Sorry about the job situation, but I am so relieved to hear (read?) the resilience back in your voice (words).

  16. Nuala Colman says:

    Hi there I read you every single day, please keep it up. I feel like I know you at this stage and would miss your blog. 🙂

  17. atomicmomma says:

    Sorry I haven’t commented in awhile. I do check you daily and haven’t commented lately.

    So happy to hear that you feel like you are turning a corner on the depression. You are an inspiration to me as to how to take things one day at a time and practice what you have learned.

    Bummed that the job situation has stalled but I believe it’s in God’s hands.

    Thank you for your commitment to blogging. You lift my spirits so many days. I will try better to comment so you don’t feel like your efforts are in vain.

  18. Jackie says:

    Hi MC,
    I read you all the time and you have helped me immensley, thank you.

  19. Tami says:

    I read you every day. I miss you on the days of not posting. You’ve helped me to identify the unmanageability of my life as being low level depression and I am seeking solutions. No longer drowning in the WTH is wrong with me? 🙂

  20. Helen says:

    Beautiful spring flower! Thanks for posting. I look here daily to see what you have written and can relate to much of it.

  21. Meggie says:

    Ive been reading your blog for a few years now and I really enjoy it and have learned much from it. My daughter lives in the Denver area and for some reason your blog makes me feel closer to her.? I also have thirt 30 year old twins sons, one of which is an addict. So we have some thing in common! Please keep writing!

  22. Meggie says:

    oops please disregard bad spelling, etc. 🙂

  23. Kat Stephens says:

    Keep going forward, you will never be satisfied going backwards
    Luv, Kat

  24. Catherine says:

    Greetings from Brussels, MC. I have never commented on a blog before. But I am a regular reader, a grateful member of Al-Anon and have been inspired by and grateful for your blog for many years. Catherine

  25. Hi, Mare (said in the voice of Rhoda Morgenstern)
    I am an awful blogger these days but I still read your blog. Hang in there, babe.

  26. Diana says:

    Long time reader from Austin here! I read you every day and so look forward to your posts. I identify with your struggles and wish so many good things for you. I feel that you are a friend and would miss you if you went away. Wishing you peace. Diana

Leave a Reply

