Wednesday of Holy Week

IMG_4304I had hoped that this Holy Week could be one I truly experience.  I TRULY experienced Lent this year.  I was afraid that this year would be like last, and I would be unable to get away from work to get to Mass and other Holy Week observations.

It has been one of the most difficult work weeks, in a totally different way.  I recall my father teaching me how to dress for work, how to behave at work, how to get along with others, and other lessons that have served me well.  No one ever told me how to behave when a co-worker’s husband is murdered.  Unfortunately, I feel that this is becoming more common-place and we will learn how to navigate these things.

I scheduled Friday afternoon off.  Somehow I think I will end up staying at work.  If so, I hope that I can get to Stations of the Cross at noon at the Cathedral.

I hope to write more about my profound Lenten experience, but time does not allow.  Must get to work!  I will go there with a servant’s heart, and not worrying about the constant blows to my pride.  Yesterday a division director asked me in the most insulting way, “What DO you do?” when I told him that I DON’T do the work he has asked me to do.  I managed to live through that conversation, sweetly explaining to him my role and his role in this work.  I did not cry, I did not shake.  If he is rude, that is his problem, I don’t have to take it on.

Let’s see what happens today, shall we?

Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return; the Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord. — Job 1:21

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Surrender, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wednesday of Holy Week

  1. Syd says:

    It seems that humility and compassion are things that a lot of Directors have not found. I hope that your work day goes well.

    Dealing with the tragedy of murder is something I experienced with a good friend. Her sister was murdered a little over a year ago. She was a young woman when I first met her, filled with so much promise and getting married. That marriage ended in divorce and eventually she got involved with druges. She went to rehab several times but this time she was involved with a drug dealer and finally he killed her and burned her car, after throwing her in a lake. Horrible stuff.

    And yes, I am cutting up that tree along with the handy man who comes every Sunday. John Lee and I will cut it up and then use the log splitter to split the wood. It should be pretty well cut up by early next week. Quite a task but a lot of oak for the fire places.

  2. quillain says:

    Have a blessed Maundy Thursday. So much of what I know about a servant’s heart I have learned from reading your blog. May God help me help others, if I can learn how to ask him. *sigh* I am so selfish, but I am trying to do better.

  3. Mary LA says:

    I so hope you are able to get to Holy Week devotions, this is a very special time of year. Mary Christine, I am battling to send emails out although I was (finally) able to open mail. You are in my prayers, as are all those affected by this horrible tragedy.

Leave a Reply

