Excitement of an Ordinary Day

IMG_4261This photo was taken a year ago today.  The same tree on the same street today is barren, no leaves, covered with ice and snow.  Last year spring was so mild.  This year has been wild!  We need the moisture so desperately I will not complain.  By the end of the week it will be warm, and I think some little leaves will come popping out to see what’s going on.

Today I feel excitement as I get ready to head out the door for an ordinary day of work.  I have some traveling around to do, but that should be good.  It should mean I am home by 3:30.

The funeral was good yesterday.  Since I am not insulting anyone here (I hope), I will say that I am once again so grateful to be Catholic.  The funeral lasted for two and a half hours.  There were heartfelt eulogies that were touching.  But there were maybe 10 of them?  There was music, some of it sublime – “How Great Thou Art” for example.  Some of it was contemporary Christian, which is just not my style.  To see people waving their hands in the air and dancing was just a bit much for me.  There was perhaps an hour of plain old preaching.  The preacher spent 20 minutes talking about the 23rd Psalm… walking about the stage screaming “The Rod and The Staff!!!!!!!!”  Which I thought was just abusive.

In a Catholic funeral, there is a Mass.  It is not “about” the person who is deceased.  It is about Christ.   A Catholic funeral lasts about an hour.  It may take longer if there are a bunch of people, because it can take a long time for a lot of people to receive communion.

Please, when I die, have a Catholic Funeral Mass.  If when I die I happen to have a priest who knows me, he can say a word or two about me, if he chooses.  Please dear God, do not allow AA people to come and take over my funeral and disrespect my church.  (I have seen AA people descend upon funerals and completely take them over, regardless of which setting they are in.)  If you want to “celebrate my life,” do it AFTER the funeral.  Have a party, eat food, laugh and enjoy yourselves.  Maybe some can recall a story about me.  That would make my children happy.  — I have made these wishes known to my children, and I believe they will honor that.

OK, so I started out by saying how happy I am just to be living an ordinary day today, but ended up planning my funeral.  Welcome to my world!

And as Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, so must the Son of man be lifted up, that whoever believes in him may have eternal life.  — John 3:14

 

This entry was posted in Mass. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Excitement of an Ordinary Day

  1. Syd says:

    Good to make those wishes known though. I have to say that I received great comfort from the Catholic mass for my MIL. And many others said the same.

  2. Annette says:

    LOL Mary….hopefully no one needs to have this info fresh in their memory anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

