2 Days till Spring

IMG_4211

 

It is not quite spring yet, but very close.  I feel as though it is spring in my heart for several reasons:

  • We have a new Pope.  He seems to be a breath of fresh air for our Church.
  • The grass is getting green, the leaves are pushing out of the ground, some of the earliest flowers are in bloom.
  • I am in the two weeks of the month when I think my job is OK, and that this month it will be different.
  • I am terrified to even say this, but the depression seems to be lifting.

I had several moments of unmitigated joy over the weekend.  On Saturday my daughter invited me to her house, as well as the two older granddaughters, and the tiny little baby boy grandson!  I got to hold him and feed him and burp him and change his diaper!  (I haven’t changed the diaper of a boy since I tended to my now 36 year old son.)  We worked on the quilts we started in December.  We are making three Colorado flag wall hangings.  We are designing as we go, and learning from mistakes as well.

IMG_5971My daughter shared some of her sour dough starter with me.  Yesterday I made sour dough bread, a loaf for me, and a loaf for my friend.  It is dangerously delicious!

IMG_5977How can you not be happy when you have the fragrance of bread in the house, a family you love, and so many things to do?

Man does not live bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.  — Deuteronomy 8:3

 

 

This entry was posted in Spring. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2 Days till Spring

  1. Syd says:

    Glad that spring is coming there. It is greening up here. And so glad that your depression is lifting.

  2. Mary LA says:

    I can feel the colour and warmth coming back into your life — that crocus just glows!

Leave a Reply

