Saturday Morning

IMG_5951That’s a tofu noodle bowl that I had last week.  The red tofu looks like it would be hot, but it is not.  It is just crispy fried and couldn’t possibly be good for a person.

Last week I decided that meat would probably be good for me.  Who knows why that popped into my head.  I made a huge pot of vegetable beef soup to eat throughout the week.  By yesterday I was wondering why my pants didn’t feel right and why my whole body felt awful.  I told my coworker  I felt like I gained 20 lbs. in my sleep the night before.  She quickly said “you are eating meat again, aren’t you?”  That had not even occurred to me!  I packed up the soup and froze it.  I bought some veggie fare to eat this week.  Hopefully I will feel like my body is my own by next week this time.

When I pulled into my garage last night after work, I quickly put the car in reverse and parked in the driveway.  I thought I would sweep out the garage.  But two hours later I was still working.  I vacuumed the leaves in the flower bed, swept the garage, went through several boxes, and threw away many old, unneeded things.  This morning my back hurts!

Got to a local meeting this morning where I saw several old friends.  Had two separate conversations after the meeting with two men who are sober a long time, have good careers, and are, like me, trying to figure out how they can ever retire.  We all said the same thing – we have to remain in good health so that we can continue to work for a long, long, time.  One is a bicycle racer, one is a fitness guy, and I, as you may know, used to run marathons and half marathons.  It was basically the same conversation two times within 30 minutes.   With all of us saying the same thing.

And that is one of the best features of fellowship.  I do not feel so alone.  If I hang out with peers from work, I may think it is normal to have saved money since you graduated from college,  paid off your home when you were in your 40s, been able to pay for a new automobile with cash, and retired at 50 and live a life of happiness and prosperity for the remainder of your days.  That my friends, is NOT my story.  I am glad I am not alone.

I hope to read up on the new pope this weekend.  I am still so so so so excited about him.  Yesterday one of my friends from the hospital called to talk about him and told me she is considering becoming a Catholic because she is so moved by what has happened.  Wow.

I am sitting in a chair in front of the fireplace, and I hate to admit to you that I am so comfortable and lazy I do not want to get up and fetch a Bible.  So, let me quote a verse from memory?

We rejoice in the hope of God’s glory.  Not only this, but we also rejoice in sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance, character, and character, hope.  And hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.  — Romans 5:2-5

Didn’t know this from memory, but remembered that I have several Bible apps on my phone, so pulled this one up.

 

This entry was posted in Sobriety, The Church. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Saturday Morning

  1. Hope says:

    The more I read about Pope Francis the more encouraged I am.

  2. atomicmomma says:

    You are sounding good these days. I hope you are turning the corner and starting to feel better.

    I am excited to see how Pope Francis carries himself.

  3. Syd says:

    MC, the mass was just wonderful today. It was simply beautiful. I am thinking about going back to mass a few times a week. I can attend even though I’m not Catholic. The Monseigneur was truly such a nice man.
    Glad that you had a good day. Yes, the fellowship was there today–the ones that mattered.

    • Oh Syd, I am so happy to hear that the funeral was beautiful. I hope you will go back, as you said, you don’t have to be Catholic. I am also so glad that the fellowship showed up for C., that is so important.

Leave a Reply

