A Feeling of Renewal

IMG_4294

 

Last night I talked with my brother who lives in South Carolina.  When I said “Hello,” he greeted me with “Habemus Papam!”  We talked at great length about Pope Francis I, his two predecessors, and the Church.

There is, of course, criticism of the man.  Unearthing of details from the distant past.  Maybe not so distant.  I do not know.  I am not going to look at gift horse in the mouth.  I am going to rejoice in what looks like a welcomed departure for the Church.

What has felt like the longest Lent I’ve ever experienced is nearing its completion.  Tuesday is St. Joseph’s Day.  My late mother’s birthday.  My granddaughter’s birthday.  And the day our new pope shall be installed.

even the darkness is not dark to you, the night is bright as the day; for darkness is as light with you.  — Psalm 139:12

This entry was posted in The Church. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Feeling of Renewal

  1. Syd says:

    I hope that he will effect change but still dismay at the stance against gays when there have been terrible things that happened regarding pedophilia.
    Interesting that your brother lives in SC. I live near Charleston, SC.

  2. Mary LA says:

    What a lovely little blue/mauve vinca in your pic. I have white vincas in my garden, from Mauritius where their alkaloid extracts are used as a treatment for cancer.

    Early days, isn’t it? There is so much interest in this new Pope out here and nobody knows him yet.

    • I had a pot of flowers many years ago that I set in the rocks in my garden. Some of the vinca escaped from the pot and rooted itself among the rocks. I let it grow, now it is about to take over my front yard. I still love it though. It is such a pretty ground cover.

      I am so impressed by the pope, not knowing a whole lot about him. What I’ve heard has just been so impressive, so humble.

Leave a Reply

