Progress, or lack thereof

IMG_5940The weekend was so warm (mid sixties both days) that some flowers popped out to see what’s going on.  My neighbor has a bunch of flowers in the front of her house where the sun shines brightly.  Most of my bulbs are in the back of my house which, in spite of the warm days, is still covered with snow.

It snowed again yesterday.  This morning it is 8 degrees.  I am taking a trip to another city this afternoon.  Their expected high tomorrow is 64 degrees.  I think I shall pack a very full suitcase full of two seasons worth of clothes.

I worked both days this weekend and I am utterly and completely exhausted, physically, mentally, and emotionally.  But off I march into another day.  (yesterday is my favorite date of the year, the date that is also a sentence: 3/4 = March forth!)  I have thrown myself upon the Mercy of God, surrendered to Him what shall be.  Funny how easy that is when you can’t see any alternative.

Here’s what’s good:  On Saturday night we celebrated my twin daughters’ birthday.  Since I had no time to cook, we went to our favorite Ethiopian restaurant.  We debated about whether my two older granddaughters are old enough for the adventure of Ethiopian food, and decided they were.  (They actually weren’t.)  But I had perhaps an hour of unmitigated joy as I had the girls in my car with me on the way to and from the restaurant.  I hadn’t seen them since before Christmas.  We got in the car and I realized they didn’t know what to say or do.

Quickly, I thought about my oldest granddaughter being 13 years old later this month, and thought – how to relate, how to relate?  Music!  I asked them what radio station they like, and they shouted out the numbers.  I turned it on and they immediately started singing along and laughing.  They were dancing (as much as you can in a car).  It was heaven.  So young, so innocent, so joyful.  And I am their grandmother!  It was a beautiful thing.

Gotta pack and go to work now.

God’s will, not mine.

Father, if you are willing, remove this chalice from me; nevertheless not my will, but yours, be done. — Luke 22:42

This entry was posted in Family, Nature, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Progress, or lack thereof

  1. Syd says:

    My wife and I haven’t had Ethiopian food in a while. She lived there for several years and we have the ingredients to cook it. Perhaps soon, we will have time to prepare the Injera and have a feast. Glad that you had a good time with your granddaughters.

  2. Annette says:

    You are wonderful MC!

  3. Number 9 says:

    i love the sentence March forth! thank you!

  4. Kelly says:

    You sound like such a pleasant grandma to have, and quick on your feet, too!

Leave a Reply

