The Party’s Over

photoThe sun rose invisibly this morning.  Too many dark clouds to see the sun.  There is a  dreary steel grey pall that portends a snowstorm.  I will welcome the snow, but will not enjoy the messy commutes.

The news this morning features a huge closure of one of our highways.  At shortly before 3 a.m., a car was going in the wrong direction, and struck another car injuring two people.  It’s the passenger in the offending car who died.  Having been terrorized by deliberately dangerous driving by my ex-husband, I can only imagine a woman trying to tell her drunken husband or boyfriend he is going the wrong way.  The h/b telling her to shut up and mind her own business.

Or I think of a man I knew in AA.  Last I heard he couldn’t stay sober to save his life (literally).  His daughter had done the drunken wrong direction thing years ago and died.  What a horrible thing for a parent to live with.  I would say my friend couldn’t live with it.

Grey clouds, winter storm warning, bad news.  Somehow there will be a ray of sunshine in this day, if only because I will be wearing my wonderful Ugg boots.  Sorry for sharing this morbid post.  It’s all I have today!

But I have trusted in your merciful love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.  I will sing to the Lord, because he has dealt bountifully with me.  — Psalm 13:5-6

 

This entry was posted in Hope, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Party’s Over

  1. Syd says:

    There have been several fatalities here from drunk drivers within weeks of each other. It seems to be occurring more and more. So much if society revolves around drinking. I hope that this does not get worse.

Leave a Reply

