As frivolous as I get these days

IMG_5881I have not posted a photo of shoes for a very long time.  The other night I did a foolish thing.  I went to a retail store to make a payment on my account.  When I saw the “70% off already marked down prices!” I could not resist.  I love the above shoes.  Dark red patent leather, with a short heel – not quite a flat, but pretty close.  They were marked down from $129. to a mere $18!!!  The ridiculously ugly carpet is in my office – oh, excuse me – cubicle.  (I bought a bunch of other similarly priced goods as well.)

Sitting in front of the fire, with the television on.  Amazed to see a commercial for Carnival Cruises in the middle of the coverage of “the cruise from hell.”  Sometimes I can feel good about the lack of adventure in my life.  It does cut down on risk of unpleasant vacations.  It also cuts down on the risk of awesome vacations.

I am taking Tuesday off.  There was a meeting that came up that day, I agreed to go.  I mentioned it to my boss, and she so kindly agreed to go in my stead.  What a wonderful thing for her to do.  I have five whole days when I don’t have to go into my office.  I need it.

Not as frivolous as I intended.  Sorry.

A humbled, contrite heart, O God, you will not spurn.  — Psalm 50

This entry was posted in Friends, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to As frivolous as I get these days

  1. Mary LA says:

    Such pretty shoes — and the luxury of time off. I’m so happy to read this, Mary Christine

  2. Annette says:

    Oh the shoes are such lady shoes! Lovely. I am a Birkenstock person myself…..I know that probably makes someone like you who likes real lady shoes, nauseous. lol 5 days off!!! Whoo hoo!!! I am so happy for you! Have fun, snuggle grand babies, run to your hearts content, see friends….the world is your oyster!

  3. Kelly says:

    Love. the. shoes. I love red shoes in general. My feet would never look as adorable as yours though.I have red patent leather clogs now, lol.

  4. Syd says:

    Good to have the time off. I am happy that you get some days to recoup.

Leave a Reply

