Mardi Gras

IMG_4073It’s bitterly cold and snowy here.  Not massive snow like the east coast (where one might be able to stay home from work).  Just plain old white ground and barren trees.  Oh, this is the most difficult time of the year for me.

I keep reminding myself there are leaves about to burst forth from the ground.  I can touch the branches of one of the aspen trees from my deck.  The branches are soft and healthy, and full of buds.  Only two more months of this!

Tomorrow will be the beginning of Lent.  I haven’t quite figured out how to observe it.  I wish I could do what I did two years ago.  Either Mass or Adoration every single day.  It was a fruitful Lent.  If I really really wanted to, I could do that.  It would be incredibly difficult.  My life is so different from what it was 2 years ago.  I have no time of my own.  I can’t leave my job at lunch most days.  I could go on and on and on, but you get the picture.

Honestly, it should be a good day at work today.  I will be involved in a meeting where I might be able to share some things with some people who can make a difference.  And then I have the rest of the day at my desk, no meetings, no big deals going on.  I will clean up my e-mail and get my documents, spread sheets, and powerpoint slides ready for next month.  And pray that I someday get another job where doing tedious and boring things like this won’t be my job.

But for today it is.  I will go forth and try to make the absolute best of it.

Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return: the Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.  — Job 1:21

This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mardi Gras

  1. Mary LA says:

    That snowy picture looks lovely but bleak. I hope the day went well, as well as could be expected.

  2. Thanks Mary. The snow always looks lovely at the beginning of the season, it is just that the season extends about 2 or 3 months too long. I am tired of being cold!

  3. Syd says:

    The buds are coming out here and some of the azaleas are blooming already. It is way too early for that IMO. I am now just catching up on blogs. It has been a long and tedious week for me. Hope your day went well.

Leave a Reply

