Beets and Joy a’bubbling

IMG_5789This is one of my stellar photos, the kind I like and everyone else wonders what the point is.  A photo taken with my phone from the window of a moving bus.  Looking at the City and County of Denver Building through the snow.  The clouds were phenomenal last night.  It is VERY cold here.  I hope Mr. Peyton Manning can throw in this cold.

Beets are bubbling away on the stove, in preparation for borscht.  Oh, how I love borscht.  For those who may not know, it is a hearty beet soup with potatoes and cabbage.  Served with a dollop of sour cream on top.  I am looking forward to this!

The phone rang while I was running my 6 miles on the treadmill (man I am hurting now!), I almost didn’t answer.  But I did answer, and heard music to my ears on the other end.  I know I should not write this here, but I am going to.  It was one of the management team at the hospital where I worked for over 17 years.  She wanted to know if I would consider coming back.  It seems the person they hired to replace me is not a “good fit.”  Oh, the stories I have heard!  Anyway, there is a groundswell of people at the hospital, including management, thinking they NEED me back.  After I got off the phone I cried.

When asked if I liked my new job, I have told people I like working downtown, which is true.  Now I would never accept such an obvious avoidance of a question by someone else, but they all did.  I have said I would not like to come back. I have said a bunch of things.  But right now I am praying to God that this can happen.    But even if it doesn’t, there is a great deal of satisfaction in being recognized for my talents and the acknowledgment that they NEED me.  Oh happy day!

Now I get to watch a playoff game.  I really want the Broncos to win.

For he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.  — Matthew 5:45

This entry was posted in Sobriety, Truth, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Beets and Joy a’bubbling

  1. Kary May says:

    I’m glad that you got the call, it seems like your new job has been a tremendous struggle. That’s not always bad, if you’re achieving something you want to achieve. I’ve been filling out applications myself and one of my recruiters told me, “I don’t think I’ve ever got as good references as the ones I’ve got about you. Your old hospital really wants you back.” If I hadn’t been sober when I worked there this summer, I would not have got that kind of reference, I wouldn’t have got any reference at all because I’d still be too wrapped up in alcohol to work.

  2. atomicmomma says:

    Wow. That’s alot to ponder. I’m not surprised they want you back. It will be interesting to see where this goes. I would like to know that you are in a better work situation. The stuff with your current boss just sounds awful.

  3. Annette says:

    I am so glad they asked. That is a blessing anyway you look at it. Now to my way of thinking….and keep in mind, I like boring calm, and a good fun challenge to me is climbing a high mountain…I don’t like the kind you have been navigating this past year or so…..anyway, to my way of thinking, you moved out of your comfort zone with the new job, you proved that you could do it and be successful….so go back to where they love you an its comfortable and you can just live. I’m NOT telling you what to do…..I am just telling you my way of thinking. You think very differently than I do so that may not be your choice…..but it sure in hell would be mine! lol

  4. patty says:

    I love the picture. At first glance the snow looked like water to me. Sorry about the Broncos 😦

  5. Kathy Berman says:

    God rewards us for a job well done. If you leave your current job, you will be missed. Your work example is noticeable to all. I’m a great lover of calm nowadays. I don’t know the travel details to your old job but maybe you can find a diversion on the travel time if you go back to your old job. I wouldn’t hesitate if i were you. Recovery is about having a richer, fuller life that we enjoy. I can’t imagine the tension from not knowing when your next email interruption will be appearing. I hope the money is the same or better. Get what you want if you return. Maybe a 4 day work week. That was always my bargaining chip. I loved 4 day work weeks.

    • I won’t travel at all if I go back to my old job. I will kind of miss it, but not much.

      You know, most people want to work 6 days, but I would actually rather work 6 short days than 4 long ones.

  6. Syd says:

    I know that you will make the decision that is good for you. So good to be wanted and respected for all that you have done.

  7. Mary LA says:

    I love borscht too, delicious in winter.

    As Syd says, I know you have the skills and discernment to make a good decision and I am so glad to hear that acknowledgment. So often I have used the Ignatian discernment processes together with a trusted friend or director and slowly found my way forward to the next choice. But it is not easy, is it?

    • I actually think my inability to make good decisions led me to many a bad relationship. I would turn my will and life over to the care of a man. And any man who will accept that is probably not a good man. That is certainly my experience.

Leave a Reply

