Wearing Clothes and Other Mysteries

IMG_4764This photo sits in a frame in my bedroom.  Me and my friend J. before the start of a half-marathon last summer.  So odd that I would have a 26 year old friend.  But I do, and I love hanging out with her.  She is in my running club.

In that race I wore a dress.  Later in the season, I decided that a tight technical tee and compression capris were more flattering for my next race.  But I still love those dresses!

I bring this up because another friend wants me help her get together a bunch of people to do one of those obstacle course races for women.  She wants us to wear tiaras and tutus.  Honestly, I cannot stand the thought.  She is such a good friend and she is so excited about this, I am trying to see if I can make my mind change about it.  I suggested that we wear full slips (over sports bras and compression shorts), elastic stockings, rolled down, and shower caps on our heads.  I thought the geriatric look would be fun.  She would have none of that!  She then suggested we wear full slips, but with white pumps.  I told her that was dangerous, and she laughed.  Maybe for one who has never had a season ending injury, it sounds funny.  But I take my body very seriously and I do not want to be injured.  I also don’t want to climb netting to get over big poles, or crawl through obstacles, pull ropes, etc., especially with high heels on!  Not sure I can wrap my mind around changing my view of this.

I am thinking of running another fall marathon.  I know, I know, I said I would never do it again.  But I am thinking that a marathon on the horizon could give me something to look forward to, and something to focus on other than my job and my unhappiness.

Of course, I have a grandson who is due in a couple of minutes.  And other grandchildren.  And tons of other activities.

And a bus to catch this morning….  Adios.

O God, come to my aid.  O Lord, make haste to help me.  Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, as it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end.  Amen.  Alleluia.

This entry was posted in Family, Race. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wearing Clothes and Other Mysteries

  1. Syd says:

    I have to agree that the idea of seeing a bunch of women wearing tutus and doing something like an obstacle course seems ridiculous. And demeaning IMO. It is my ego, but I don’t enjoy being laughed at.

    • I am with you 100% here Syd.

      There is a bit of a trend of women dressing up like this for races, but I think it is kind of sad. Imagine a 61 year old woman in a tutu! That is just stupid!

  2. Annette says:

    Tiaras and tutus? Oh Lord. But you know, I will say, life has always been serious business to me. Sometimes I do wonder if my silly friends are on to something.

  3. Pam says:

    It sounds fun, no matter what you wear…….but wear your cute dress. hee hee

  4. atomicmomma says:

    I think you have a great sense of humor but I’m with you – I don’t like the tutus and tiara idea either. You know….she is of a younger generation of women who have no idea how far women have come – in sports, the workplace, in politics. There was a time when girls were not allowed to participate in sports and it was assumed women didn’t have the physical strength for competitions or couldn’t compete in marathons and if women did do it they certainly wouldn’t finish or even do a competitive time in a race.

    This is why I get mad – as a woman who worked at a newspaper and has a journalism degree – when I see female newscasters/anchors dressed like Barbie dolls on tv.

Leave a Reply

