Into another week

IMG_5775On Saturday, after I saw the flash of another camera taking my photo for a ticket, the only thing I could think to do was retaliate and take the camera’s photo!  For all the good that did!  Then as I drove around, I paid attention to all of the cameras everywhere I went.  I do not like them.  I took many photos, mostly they are the photos that you wonder what the focus is supposed to be.  The pic of the offending camera did not turn out well at all.  I was flabbergasted as the light flashed after I stopped at the red light.  I stopped in time.  I stopped just as the light turned yellow.  But my car was one little millimeter over the white line – I mean the tire was touching it – not that I was out in the intersection.

You know, I almost went there with the post I want to write, the one I have been thinking about for weeks. But when and if I write it, I want it to be well-thought-out, well-written, and my facts fully researched.  But it is about the tremendous pressure in this world.  And not just on people.  On all of creation.

I woke this morning with a trace of joy in my heart.  I cannot describe what that feels like when it has been missing for so long.  Please dear Lord, may this depression be abating.

I will work today to keep my heart still.  Not to rise to anger or offense.  To know that I am me and that I am loved by God, regardless of whether people treat me decently or not.  I will not be a victim today.  I will hold my tiny piece of ground in my tiny, but important,  place in God’s world.  And not let things seriously upset me.  I hope.

You will not fear the terror of the night nor the arrow that flies by day, nor the pestilence that stalks in darkness, nor the destruction that wastes at noonday.  — Psalm 91:5-6

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Hope. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Into another week

  1. Syd says:

    Those cameras are here as well. But we are told they are to deter crimes. I don’t know. I drive as best I can. I have run yellows but not reds. Have a good day. Holding your own little piece of ground is good.

    • I used to run yellow lights, but now I slam on the breaks for fear of another ticket. I am going to cause an accident doing this. They did research in NYC on these ticket producing cameras and found that the yellow lights were shorter for the intersections with cameras. I really hate it.

  2. atomicmomma says:

    Had the ticket from those cameras. I don’t like them – too much like Big Brother – they really weird me out. One town near me had them taken out – it seemed 80% of the revenue from tickets went to the insurance companies and after expenses of maintaining the cameras the town made no revenue.

  3. Mary LA says:

    Hoping you have a really good day — how blue your winter skies are!

  4. Pam says:

    We have them here as well. I like to wave and smile as I go by.

  5. My comments are acting up!

    The skies are very pretty and blue. We are very fortunate, most days are sunny too.

Leave a Reply

