One Last Day

IMG_3899As I sit down to write this, I look through my photos.  For each year, there are approximately 7 months of beautiful photos, followed by 5 months of photos like the one above.  Oh, sure, it was pretty at the time, the sun setting over the frigid landscape, a frozen lake, and the bleak nothingness all around.  I wondered this morning, there is a “dead of winter,” what would be the expression for the height of summer?  It wouldn’t be the “dead” of summer.

I have been invited to a party tonight.  A bunch of AA folk are going to get dressed up and go to a nice restaurant.  It sounds nice, but it is across town, and I despise driving on NY Eve.  So all day long I shall weigh the positives of going to be with people I love, and the negatives of putting my life at risk on a cold snowy winter’s night full of drunks on the highway. None of them practiced at driving drunk as I was.   Practicing Alcoholics don’t tend to go out on New Year’s Eve.

There are meetings to go to today, people to see, lists to prepare, phone calls to make, and driving all over town to do it.  It should be a good day.

Later I would like to sit for a moment and contemplate the year, and list my hopes for the new year.

No one can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other.  You cannot serve God and mammon.  — Matthew 6:24

 

This entry was posted in Feasts, Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Last Day

  1. Dave U says:

    You’ll make the right decision, whatever that is.
    I’m stayin’ home!

  2. atomicmomma says:

    I wanted to thank you for your dedication to writing your blog. You have carried me through some very difficult times in the past few years. May God Bless you and your family, Mary

  3. Syd says:

    I’m off to the gym and then home. Tomorrow is a recovery party and maybe a movie after that. Happy New Year, MC.

  4. bambusue says:

    I forget about the ‘dead’ of winter, living in the pacific northwest. Only about half the trees are deciduous, so we are surrounded by green. As I look out my window, I could hardly know it’s winter except for all the algae growing on pavement, building sides, and the moss on the roofs. I grew up in minnesota and miss the scene such as you show today. We also have a lot of mold growing, and the attendant allergies to the mold in the air.

    So I wish you a happy new year whatever you choose, and express my appreciation for your being here nearly every day and sharing your thoughts.

    • I lived in the Pacific Northwest for 2 winters. It is beautiful and green, but I missed the Colorado sunshine so bad. Thanks for reminding me.

      Thank you for your kind wishes. And Happy New Year to you too.

  5. Micky says:

    well new year has arrived in london. happy peaceful new year to you mary christine. xxx

  6. Thank you very much Micky. The same to you.

Leave a Reply

