Five More Days

IMG_5709This is my father’s slide rule.   One of many.  It was in the box I received last summer, the last of the things left in my father’s garage, 18 years after his death, and just after my step-mother’s death.  The fancy slide rules had already been passed down to my nephew who is a whiz kid engineer.  This one I wrapped with a ribbon and presented to my son.  He liked it.  I know he will like it more as time passes.

There are five days left of this year.  This has been one of the more difficult years of my life, but I hate to write off a year as being “bad.”  It just seems extremely ungrateful to do that.  So, I’ll just say this has been a very “educational” year.

As I prayed this morning for help with my impatience and down-right anger as I drive to the bus each morning, I had an intuitive thought.  I believe this is how God talks to me.  He said, “Try leaving the house earlier so you won’t be in such a hurry.”  Hey, that’s a good idea!  But I am writing this when I should be almost ready to leave the house, and hence, the whole stressful thing starts again.  This has got to change.

Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world; he who follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.  — John 8:12

 

This entry was posted in Family, History, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five More Days

  1. Kelly says:

    An educational year. I like that outlook! This year was very challenging for me, too. I hope that next year will be…less so.

    • Kelly, I find it helps me to frame things more positively. My natural inclination is to proclaim “This was the WORST year of my life!!!” but I think I tempt fate when doing so. Maybe if I accept this year as it was, I will move on to something else next year. Something not so, ummmm, educational! I hope it the same for you.

  2. Nancy says:

    In one of the first AA meetings I went to regularly, there was this woman that I thought was not very smart. She hadn’t accomplished some of the amazing (ha!) things that I had professionally and academically, and to me then she just seemed like a simpleton. And then somebody was complaining about always being 5 minutes late for everything, and she said, “yeah, I don’t like to be under stress like that, so I just leave my house about 15 minutes early for everything, then if something comes up, I’m not stressed.” What wisdom. Why do I have to learn the same lessons over and over? And I’m still stressed and hurried, often. I still blame other people for it sometimes and I still feel guilty about it sometimes. But I have this little voice inside (God?) that says it’s OK to be late sometimes and that sometimes being stressed and hurried is a result of choices I have made. I am not a victim, I am just an ordinary person.

    I hope I don’t sound like I’m preaching to you, MC, because I have absolutely no business doing so. I have a lot to learn, and your blog helps me. Your post today reminded me of some things I need to tell myself on a regular basis. Thank you for letting me comment. I am grateful for your blog. Peace.

    • Nancy, Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! I am happy to hear from you.

      When I was in school, one of the instructors talked about an employee who showed up late every single day and blamed it on the train. Obviously the instructor talked to the employee and counseled her to build the delay for the train into her schedule. I think of that when I am frantic to get to the bus. What kind of arrogant person (me?) leaves the house with no allowance for slow people in front of me or stop lights? Maybe I needed this lesson in what a small, ego-centric person I am!

      You don’t sound preachy, and I appreciate your comment Nancy.
      mc

  3. Syd says:

    I want to do so many things that I push myself right up to the last moment when I am leaving for something that I don’t want to do. I think that it is a kind of passive-aggressive behavior that I need to work on. Maybe I am secretly rebelling against having to be on schedule so I sabotage any chance of punctuality. Hmmmmm…..

    • Syd,
      I try to do too much too. Blogging is the big offender in the morning, and yet I do it nearly every day. I have tried blogging at night, but I just don’t “feel” it at night.
      I spent years in a job where I didn’t have to be there at a precise time, so taking the bus changes all of that. But it is better than driving downtown.
      If lateness is passive aggression, I would hate to tell you the one place I don’t freak out about being late to: AA meetings. hmmmmmm.
      I would think that as a retiree, there are less places that you absolutely have to be on time for? But maybe that is my wishful thinking.
      mc

Leave a Reply

