December 26

IMG_5738It was a beautiful exhausting Christmas.  It nearly broke my heart to watch my 2 year old granddaughter opening gifts.  Breaking my heart with love and joy that seem to be beyond any of my capacity.  Watching her little face light up with wonder at the gifts she had been given, the snow that began to fall, the solar Christmas lights that came on at dusk.  So many things.  A perfectly formed sentence, “I want more mashed potatoes please.”

Mass on Christmas morning, in a beautifully decorated church, every nook and cranny full of incense. We sang the latin Kyrie, Gloria, Credo, Sanctus, and Agnus Dei.  I am so thrilled to have found this place.

IMG_5732

A few children at the manger after Mass

Daughter and her boyfriend came over in the afternoon and we ate another Christmas meal.  The mashed potatoes from the night before had congealed and looked disgusting, so I sliced and fried them in butter – oh how delicious!  Is it called “potato loaf?”  All of the leftover meat was wrapped and carried out by daughter and her beau.  I had a slice of roast beef on Christmas eve, and a slice of turkey on Christmas – I couldn’t finish either.  Back to vegetarianism now, and considering the life of a vegan.

I am such a spy, I think I figured out why my son is so adverse to spending time with this new fellow – who I actually like.  New fellow was talking about a kid (now in his 40s) he hung out with in his youth.  My daughter knows him, I know him.  But as he was talking, I realized that he must have also hung out with my son.  I asked him and he got all hedgey.  And then I had the realization that they must have some history.  And an alcoholic’s history is not always a pretty thing.  In fact, it is seldom a pretty thing.  I get that.  I know that only too well.   I also know that this is none of my business and does NOT need my intervention.  It will work out the way it will work out.

Today would have been my father’s 101st birthday.  Happy Birthday Dad.  May you rest in peace, and may I greet you again in heaven.

Praise the Lord, all nations!  Extol him, all peoples!  For great is his mercy toward us; and the faithfulness of the Lord endures for ever.  — Psalm 117 (the whole thing)

 

 

This entry was posted in Family, Feasts, Mass. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to December 26

  1. Syd says:

    Glad that the day was filled with joy. Happy birthday to your dad, MC. I like that you honor him on his day.

  2. Mary LA says:

    Such bitter-sweet nostalgia and I like your honouring your father. And the food sounds so yummy! Christmas gift-giving is really for small children who can feel the magic of a special event.

  3. Kelly says:

    I’m glad that you had such a wonderful experience at mass. The right mass really gets in there and nourishes the soul, doesn’t it? (I assume the wrong mass does too, it’s just harder to appreciate.)

Leave a Reply

