12.21.12

IMG_3812

 

Just like a soap opera, I will give you an update about yesterday’s dilemma.  My daughter happened to call and ask me “What’s going on for Christmas?”  And I was able to say, “You are welcome to come on Christmas Eve when your brother and family are here, but you know the drill for that one.  I thought we could just skip that drama and you and your boyfriend could come over for Christmas day.  Your choice.” She was delighted!  She virtually squealed with joy!  So, we will go to a movie on Christmas day and have a Christmas lunch.

It is a hard time to live in the US right now.  I think, actually I hope, we are going through a sort of change-of-life, where we are questioning our values.  I hope to God we will change as a result.  We have lived through some things, but in the scheme of world events, our random incidents of violence are not really on the same scale with places where there are mass casualties every single day.  This school shooting was so awful, it has actually changed some minds and hearts.  I hope to God we do not get over this and just move on to the next story most likely to get ratings on TV.  I was so gratified to see our Governor on TV with announcements of new programs, the proposals for which I actually worked on.  And my ideas were actually heard and considered.  It is a good feeling.

Last night I went out with friends from the hospital, my former workplace.  They were all drinking, I was not.  Who was acting the fool at the table, laughing the loudest and raising cain?  That would be me.  It was just so nice to be with old friends, friends who know me, I know them, and we are comfortable with each other.  We all hugged and kissed and wished each other Merry Christmas as we left.  The staff at the sushi place where we met said that we were the best table they ever had.  They said they were laughing right along with us.  So nice to be having the kind of fun that OTHERS enjoy – unlike the “fun” I had when I was drinking.

Working at home today, Praise God.  I was having a bit of a melt-down at work yesterday.  I told my boss that I need people to leave me alone!  She stood at my desk and said “sorry, I’ll leave now.”  Oh goodness.  I told her I didn’t mean her.  And I apologized later for the little outburst.  She said she feels the same way a lot of the time.  I have SO much work to do, and so little time to get it done.  I had to do some powerful prayer and self-talk to keep my self together yesterday afternoon, and it worked!

There are Christmas gifts all over the dining room table, ready to be wrapped.  A little Christmas dress, stockings, shoes, and tiny sweater for the little girl. A doll with beribboned blonde hair, dressed in pink satin and tulle.  A painting I did last summer that my other daughter (the good twin) went nuts over.  I had it framed and will give it to her today before she leaves for Montana.

I’m looking at the shiny glow instead of the seams of the garment.  The seams are puckered and falling apart, but for now, it looks smooth and sound.   I will enjoy my family this Christmas and wrap up the things I have been able to get for 60% off already marked down prices!!!!  And Thank God for what I have been given.

For with God nothing will be impossible.  — Luke 1:37

This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Sobriety. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to 12.21.12

  1. Jackie says:

    Amen, Mary. Amen!

  2. atomicmomma says:

    I just jumped on to respond to yesterday’s post about the holiday dilemma.

    I had decided that you were doing the right thing and that your son was also doing the right thing. Two Christmases will be more work but the hard right over the easy wrong always takes more work.

    I am so happy to hear that you have figured it out. I think you are doing the right thing by having two Christmases for your kids. I also agree with your son in his reluctance to have some of these strange characters around his family. Kids change things – and your daughter doesn’t understand that.

    You’re a good woman Mary. May God continue to bless you and your family.

  3. Kelly says:

    Yayyy! I’ll bet you can feel the weight lift. Praise God!

  4. louisey says:

    Good to hear you had such a great party, sober! Christmas gifts chosen with love, I smiled to read that

  5. patty says:

    Merry Christmas, Mary! I am so happy things were worked out on both ends in relation to the holiday dilemma. What movie are you going to see? I really want to go to see Le Mis! I usually don’t like musicals, but Ann Hathaway’s voice sounds so beautiful in the commercials. Did you know that they sang all of the songs live on set? No prerecording, first time ever done. I saw a story about it recently. Anyway, whatever movie you see, have fun and know you are loved and thought of in Ohio today and every day :*

  6. Syd says:

    Sounds as if all worked out. That’s a good thing. Follow your heart.

    • Hi Patty,

      Nice to hear from you. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

      I think we are not actually going to end up going to the movie. I would like to see Les Mis, have heard such good things about it. The fact that they didn’t pre-record the music sounds amazing!

    • Wow. I sure put that comment to Patty in the wrong place.

      I expect it will be good. I hope you have a great open house.

Leave a Reply

