Going strong, since December 15, 1951

IMG_0031The world is in mourning for the slaughter of scores of tiny children.  We all attach our causes to it.  Maybe it can make more sense that way.  Of course, mine is mental health.  But added to that, is the cruel society in which we live.  OK, I will stop there.

Today is my 61st birthday.  It is also the anniversary of my new boss sending me an e-mail to set up an interview.  And thus, the roller coaster started a year ago today.  This has been the most un-well year of my life.  Paradoxically, my physical health is good.  I think I missed one day of work due to sickness in the last year.  And I have not had one single migraine since I stopped working at the hospital.  But I would gladly take a migraine every day to have my mental well-being back.  OK, enough of that too.

I am going out with my running group this morning.  I had intended to do 6.1 miles, a mile for each decade of my life – I started that when I was thirty.  I think there is something unsustainable about this, whatcha think?  I could easily do 6.1 this morning, but I have other plans too.  And they are butting up against each other.  I think I will do 3 or 4 this morning, then get back home and get dressed to go meet my friend for a movie and lunch.  Come home from that and hop on the treadmill for 2.1 or 3.1, and then get ready to go to dinner at my daughter’s house.

I do believe my whole family will be there tonight.  Just writing that brings a tear to my eye.  I will see all my babies, and my grown children, I am so proud of all of them. It will be the first time one of my kids has made my birthday dinner. I am really excited about this little rite of passage.

Today I will try to just appreciate it being my birthday, and I will try not to think too much about the state of the world.   I can do that tomorrow.  And will, I am sure.

You have heard that it was said, “You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.  But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, so that you may be sons of your Father, who is in heaven; for he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and unjust. — Matthew 5:43-45

This entry was posted in Depression, Family, Roses, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Going strong, since December 15, 1951

  1. Mary LA says:

    How wonderful! Happy birthday Mary Christine and I hope you have a very good day.

  2. mike says:

    Happy Birthday

  3. Kelly says:

    Wishing you a very happy day indeed!

  4. Annette says:

    Love the scripture at the end…..Happy Birthday my friend! It sounds like a wonderful wonderful day. May the Lord bless you and keep you each and every day Mary.

  5. Hope says:

    Happy Birthday Mary Christine!! I am very happy for you about the dinner cooked by your children. It’s a full circle kind of feeling.

  6. Syd says:

    Happy birthday, MC. I hope that you have a great time today in spite of the world situation.

    • It was the second time in my life that a shooting cast a shadow on my birthday. In 1993 in Denver, there was a mass shooting at a Chuck E. Cheese restaurant on Dec. 14. In fact, I worked at the hospital where a few of them came to die.

  7. Wendy says:

    Happy Belated Birthday. Hope you had a great dinner with family.

  8. Dave U says:

    I think we change as life continues. It’s HOW we adjust to those changes that helps to determine our own happiness and well-being. Happy birthday MC. I have not kept it a secret that you have been a constant inspiration and teacher to me for the past 8 years. Keep changing. Keep adjusting. And don’t kick yourself simply because you don’t feel like running an extra mile or two.

  9. Thank you everyone. You are all too kind – in a good way, and I appreciate you.

Leave a Reply

