Paper Maché

IMG_5618A couple of weeks ago, two events happened that may have changed my life!  Uh oh, in internet land, you can’t see that I am being ironic.

  1. I had the insane idea to order the daily newspaper.  Now I have two weeks worth of newspapers, I think I have actually read two of them.  Although I will recycle them, that never assuages my guilt, waste is waste.  For instance, plastic water bottles – I do not use them except in emergencies.  But I digress…
  2. I was at my daughter’s house two weeks ago.  She explained her plight to me.  Her little garden gnome had fallen off his ledge and broken his arm right off his little body!  She wanted it back on but it would not stay on with glue.  Her clever mother (me) suggested we make a cast and stick it back on that way!  I went through my brain, how to do this… how to do this…. and remembered the ancient recipe for paper maché.  We dipped tiny strips of paper towels in the flour and water paste, and wrapped his little broken off arm and hand, and left it to dry.  The next day, when it dried, he had a little hard cast for his arm.  (Don’t tell him it is never coming off, he may think it is healing, but it is not going to. )

So, with the recent remembrance of paper maché, all the newspapers that have yet to be recycled, and the Advent season upon us, what else would you do?  Paper maché ornaments, of course!  I made three of them last night, and they are hanging from my chandelier to dry.  They are a colossal pain in the a**, but I will continue to at least paint these and see how they look.

I have a million things to do today.  The job I am applying for was re-announced yesterday.  That means they had no qualified applicants.  They had not yet received my application, test, resume, and cover letter.  It will go to HR today – although now the deadline is extended another week.  The only thing left to do is the cover letter.  Cover letter, Shmover letter.  I don’t want to do it!  But I shall.

That’s it for me on a Friday morning.  Have a good Friday everyone.

The skies tell the story of the glory of God, the firmament proclaims the work of his hands; day pours out the news to day, night passes to night the knowledge.  — Psalm 18

 

This entry was posted in Hope, Thrift. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Paper Maché

  1. Annette says:

    Well aside from the technical business stuff that you would really need to know to do the job, I could write you a cover letter that would make you sound like Jesus Himself. :o) Or maybe thats a reference….lol. See, I have NEVER had to do any of this stuff! And I don’t say that to brag….there is a part of me that feels like I have not lived in the real world. I have spent my years doing things like making paper mache ornaments and wiping old people’s bottoms. :o) I LOVE the ornament idea btw and am having a gathering of little people this Monday to do a craft and snack visiting time instead of our monthly park day….maybe this could be our craft. :o) I am praying for the right doors to open in regards to the job. You are amazing my dear….fearless in so many ways.

    • I wish you could write this letter – I still have yet to do it. This weekend I must!!!!

      The ornaments were a big fat mess. They have to drip and dry over a night or two. I need to buy the paint today…. They are cute though.

      Good for you on a job you can feel good about at the end of the day. That is probably the most important thing. Helping others.

  2. Syd says:

    Sounds good about the job. If you have those qualifications, then you should be offered it. Hope it works out.
    Crafty ornaments. I like them.

  3. Sasha Lynn says:

    Yay! Love the ornament idea!

  4. Mary LA says:

    The little garden gnome restored — and such a good idea for ornaments! I made puppets at school from papiermache, a cast of wizards and dragons and children with pointy ears. Such fun! I hope the ornaments work out and good luck with getting that job application off —

    • I would have loved to have seen those puppets! I think the only things I have ever made from paper mache (we Americans have such a way of taking the magic out of words) were huge maps in relief. Little painted green ranges of mountains!

  5. Dave U says:

    I see a retirement income in the making.

  6. I love your ornaments!! And I think the garden gnome idea is pure brilliance.

  7. patty says:

    I love your ornaments! What a clever idea. UGH! HR, They definately move at their own pace. Waiting for them to check my references and give me the final OK on my first job. Hopefully next week. HUGS to you!

Leave a Reply

