Into a Pink Hued Morning

photo.JPG

I am doing a “streak,” running or walking at least one mile every day between Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Yesterday was day 7 for me – I actually had run the day before Thanksgiving, so I am counting that.  It is super easy to get out of the house or get on the treadmill when I can fool myself into thinking it is only going to be a mile.  It is a trick, because I always do at least two or three.  And I start out walking slowly, thinking “I will just take it easy today, one mile, walking slowly.”  But I end up running.  It is interesting.  Since I bought a treadmill, I have opted to stay in doors and run on the mill when it is cold outside.  But when convinced I will only do a mile, I don my hat and mittens, etc., and head out the door.  I have yet to regret doing that. I’m seeing sunrises and sunsets again, which used to bring me such joy – they are again.  The photo is last night’s sunset over the front range of the Rocky Mountains.   This morning the world is lit up pink.  Confusing when you consider the adage “red sky at night sailor’s delight, red sky in the morning sailor take warning.”  Yeah, I know, I live inland.

Yesterday someone who has been rude to me since I started my new job called.  He called to apologize and beg for my help.  I think he has been told that he is going to lose his job if he doesn’t knock it off.  His is a big job and it must have pained him greatly to make that phone call.  I hope to God I was as gracious as a person could be when I pledged my help to him and accepted his apology.  I would have bet money yesterday that this would NEVER happen.  Shows you how life is surprising and it is foolhardy to try to figure out where it is going.

Thank God that I learned a better way to live, with love instead of spite, and have spent years practicing it.  Mind you, practicing, not perfecting.

Sing a new song to the Lord for he has worked wonders.  His right hand and his holy arm have brought salvation.  — Psalm 97:1

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Into a Pink Hued Morning

  1. Syd says:

    Can’t see your photo here. But I’m grateful for those red skies at night. Accepting someone’s apology is good. Glad that he and you were able to get over any personal impasse.

Leave a Reply

