White Friday

Cooking with Parsnips for the first time. They went into a hearty vegetable soup and are delicious!

I’m going to call today White Friday instead of black.  I am not going to set foot into any retail establishment today, nor will I purchase anything online.  I do not have to!  Or as my mother used to say, “if everyone else jumped off a cliff, would you just follow them?”  I’m not jumping off this cliff Mom.

We had a glorious Thanksgiving.  My son’s in-laws are so normal and nice.  The dinner was so unaffected.  A fried turkey, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce, green bean casserole, apple pie, pumpkin pie.  Ice cream.  And whipping cream whipped to perfection in daughter-in-law’s new fancy-schmancy mixer.  None of them had ever seen someone make whipped cream out of real cream before.  I hope to God it tasted better than cool whip to them!  It was such a nice day.  We took a walk after dinner, so nice to have so many people making sure the little one is good, the dog is happy and well-behaved, and all adults are acting like adults.  Nice, nice, nice.

Today I will likely start a blog for my icons.  I need a step-by-step guide and I cannot find one.  I will make one!  Thanks to my penchant for taking photos of all things, I have pictures of my last completed icon, at every step through the 21 step process.  This blog will have nothing to do with this blog, and will not be a personal journal (I hope), but a blog about writing icons.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving and are looking forward to a lovely weekend.

If you go into the desert merely to get away from people you dislike, you will find neither peace nor solitude; you will only isolate yourself with a tribe of devils.  — Thomas Merton, New Seeds of Contemplation, p. 52

 

This entry was posted in Family, Gratitude, Icons. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to White Friday

  1. Syd says:

    I’m glad that you had a great Thanksgiving. It was good for me on the boat. And now I’m back home which is even better.

  2. luluberoo says:

    Mary, what a great day! Ours was splendid as well. I guess it takes some not so pleasant holidays to really appreciate and be in the moment for ones that come together so perfectly.

    An icon blog would be unique; definitely a niche.

    • I think it takes overlooking what isn’t perfect about it. This holiday was not perfect by any means, but I have learned to focus on what is good. And there was a lot.

      I doubt the icon blog would have much of a readership, but would be a record for me of how you go about writing an icon – step by step. It would be a bonus if someone else read it!

Leave a Reply

