Stewardship

My maybe new church.  It was built in 1961, so it has that sort of “modern” minimalism.  There are stained glass windows on both sides, they are abstract, so no Saints or Angels.  I think I can live with that.  I got a bulletin on Saturday night and saw all of the things they are doing and I think I want to join them.  For one thing, they have a class on the Four Pillars of the Church (the Catechism), for a total of $80.  I am so glad I decided to drop the class that was going to cost me nearly $1,000.  I had no idea that another opportunity would land in my lap!  Feels like God’s will to me!  They also do extensive homeless outreach, which I would like to help with.  My other church had wine nights, picnics, and fairs.

I’ve been thinking a great deal about my role as a steward of my resources.  I am doing a terrible job.

  • Time:  I spend ridiculous sums of time sitting in front of this computer.  It really is mostly time wasted.
  • Talent:  I finally feel that my talent is being used at work.  I should be doing my icons, which I love, and that is truly talent given back to God.   I sponsor alcoholic women, which is a good use of my “talent.”
  • Treasure:  NIGHTMARE!  Yesterday I went shopping with my extremely frugal daughter.  I bought new make-up.  I looked at her for approval of every item.  I had literally no make-up left at home.  I used every single old mascara, sample of moisturizer, old eye-shadows, and lipstick.  I was down to nothing.  I went to a store that I knew would be cheaper than what I normally wear.  And $145. later, I have a full set of skin care and make up.  Men may not know that this is cheap, but it is.  But I have the mentality that I can buy nothing, and every purchase turns into a guilt-fest.  I am in so much debt.  And that cannot be right.    — I semi-tithe (not 10%) to my church, and I financially sponsor a woman in the Philippines.  But it is not enough!

Maybe some time later next year, I can report to you my progress on these things.  For now, I know they are not in balance, and I am not giving honor to God in the way I use what I have been given.

He looked up and saw the rich putting their gifts into the treasury; and he saw a poor widow put in two copper coins.  And he said, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put in more than all of them; for they all contributed out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all the living that she had.  — Luke 21:1-4

This entry was posted in Catechetical School, Faith, Gratitude, Thrift. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stewardship

  1. Syd says:

    I like your thoughts on working with the homeless. What a great opportunity that is. And the other talents, time and treasures that you mention–well, it gave me something to think about. I spend less and less time at the computer. Too much to do otherwise. We spent much of the weekend putting “stuff” away in the new kitchen. Whew–a lot will go to Good Will. I am working on the talent aspect too. And treasure–well, I seem to have an abundance but am not sure that all of it is necessary.

  2. Dave U says:

    Good morning Mary. I have no thoughts in particular today; just sayin’ howdy.

    btw – I can be productive while watching football because during commercials and halftime, I do little errands around the house. And there’s a TV in every room, all on the same channel. LOL

  3. I like the feel of your new church. I have always believed that the role of a church is to reach out not in. By helping others in the community who are in no way affiliated with your church, you are doing the true work of Christ.
    I work at a day spa and skin care clinic. I know well the true price of cosmetic beauty. You did good 🙂

  4. Grace says:

    I don’t normally leave comments, but I wanted you to know that your blog means a lot to me. I read it almost everyday and receive a lot of strength and encouragement from it. thanks for sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

