All Hallows’ Eve

We have been encouraged to dress up in costumes for work today.  I always love that. I hope I will not feel foolish all day wearing running garb.  It will be comfy!  I got my new shoes for the year last night.  They are expensive, but not even near the price of three pairs of shoes a year I used to buy.  And Newtons fixed my feet!

It is the day before All Saints Day.  The wearing of costumes and other rites of our current secular Halloween come from Christian roots, all mixed up with other traditions.  I like the explanation for why we dress up:

“It was traditionally believed that the souls of the departed wandered the earth until All Saints’ Day, and All Hallows’ Eve provided one last chance for the dead to gain vengeance on their enemies before moving to the next world. In order to avoid being recognised by any soul that might be seeking such vengeance, people would don masks or costumes to disguise their identities”

So, I shall be wearing bright enough clothes to frighten the dead away today.  And will continue to pray for all those who have suffered so greatly in the wake of Sandy.

And behold, some are last who will be first, and some are first who will be last.  — Luke 13:30

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Thrift. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to All Hallows’ Eve

  1. Dave U says:

    Boo. (scare ya?)

  2. Mary LA says:

    Those shoes look so comfy! and this for me is always a day to remember those lost and a sad time for all those suffering in the aftermath of Sandy. I hope things get restored and repaired soon. And that you have a good colourful day!

  3. Syd says:

    Sounds like a good day. I am thinking of those who are in terrible straits after Sandy. Being without power and having no home is terrible.

  4. Kelly says:

    Unusual for you not to post, even for one day. Hoping all is okay! +JMJ+ *hug*

  5. Thank you for noticing Kelly. I’m OK – just ridiculously busy!

Leave a Reply

