Faith

Since the giant drooling dog broke a lamp, I went on a lamp shopping spree over the weekend (at Target).  I am amazed that I purchased this Tiffany lamp, I have never liked them, but on Sunday Morning I simply HAD to have this lamp, and I think it looks so pretty!

I’ve been fighting panic all night.  So worried about so many members of my family.  Say what you will about the evils of facebook, but for this moment, I know that my niece and family in the Baltimore area are OK – but without power; I know that my nephew in Manhattan and family are OK – and they do have power; I can draw the conclusion that since my nephew failed to mention his mother or two sisters and families, they are all OK too.  I will call my sister later to verify.  But 8:30 is actually considered early in the morning in NYC, so I shall wait.

When I spoke to my sister last night, she was in her 28th floor apartment, the windows were shuddering, the drapes were waving, and the chandelier was swinging.  She had a bag packed for the bathtub if it came to that.  I am hopeful it didn’t.

I am grateful for the elasticity of the human heart.  A short ten days ago, I really wanted to punch her in the face, but she is my sister and I love her.  The thought of her in a high apartment in so much peril is enough to keep me awake all night.  And if she needed a place to come, I would not hesitate to offer her my home.  No doubt, I would complain endlessly about it if it ever came to that, but I could not turn my back on her.

I had a horrible meeting yesterday with someone.  I was so hoping to come to him with honesty and a tiny bit of charm, and at least get on the same page.  He greeted me with a summary he wrote, sarcastic remarks, and arms firmly crossed against his front.  It went downhill from there.  I can only own my part, not his.  I came in good faith.

Faith, maybe that is all I have.  Let me be quick to say that if so, it is enough.  For without it, I would have nothing.

you are all sons of light and sons of the day: we do not belong to the night or to darkness  — 1 Thessalonians 5:5

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Fear. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Faith

  1. Dave U says:

    I’m going to assume that the horrible meeting was NOT with a sponsee. LOL

    I have no doubt that your family is OK although living a new experience. One they’ll never forget nor wish to repeat.

  2. Syd says:

    Glad that your family is okay. Sadly, many business meetings are about egos and control. I worked with a Director who had a similar attitude to what you describe. It gets old.

  3. Annette says:

    I love this post. And I love your new lamp! I have a lot of stained glass lamps in my house….I love the craftsman period of architecture.
    I am glad that your fam is ok and I particularly enjoyed reading about your feelings toward your sister. I have a sister like that also. She is 16 years older than me and just not a nice person most of the time.
    I hope things can be resolved with the meeting guy. It sounds like you did your part and now he has to work through his part. We can only do so much to change any given situation. Take good care Mary.

  4. patty says:

    Hi Mary, Just wanted to say hello. I sent you an e-mail on google a while back, do you still get mail there? Love the lamp!
    Patty

  5. Mary LA says:

    Hope your family is safe Mary Christine. That is such a pretty lamp. I found when I was working with some very obstructionist and unpleasant people in media that I could own my part but had to set boundaries and complain about unacceptable behaviour. If they could get away with it, they just kept doing it.

Leave a Reply

