Plugging

There’s my eye.  I can’t remember why I took its picture.  I haven’t taken any interesting photos for a day or two because I am largely homebound.

I did go to the meeting this morning.  It is such a miraculous thing to me to sit in that room with those people I love so much – and they tell me they love me too!

I thought of my sponsee who called me last night to tell me how much she hates AA.  She is celebrating 7 years of sobriety on Thursday.  Honestly, I think I should have hung up on her.  No matter how explicit I get in my suggestions or advice, she calls the next time with the same problems.  Never having given a moment’s thought to my suggestion – for an inventory, for praying before shooting off at the mouth, for writing in a daily journal, for writing a daily inventory… whatever.  She gets off the phone saying “oh, thank you!  I will do that!”  And then calls back with the same problem, having never done any of it.   I think of firing her and then never do because it hasn’t felt like the right thing to do.  But perhaps someone else could give her a better opportunity for recovery and a good life.     Oh, and she threw in some crack about how “church people” don’t “get it.”  Really?  Why are you calling me?

So, today I am plugging forward…. sitting on the sofa, watching the Sunday morning news shows.  Getting ready for a solid day of football.  Will study a script I wrote for a contentious meeting I am having tomorrow.  And will do some other work studying too.

So grateful to be sober, so grateful to be alive, so grateful to be healthy (a cold doesn’t count), and so grateful to have a safe warm home to stay in today.  Oh, and so grateful the election will be over in 9 days.

I am the light of the world, says the Lord; anyone who follows me will have the light of life.  — John 8:12

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Gratitude, sponsee. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Plugging

  1. Dave U says:

    Maybe you could ask her what she expects / wants from you as her sponsor. Maybe she’ll fire herself and find another person who will tell her what she wants to hear. LOL
    Maybe you could ask her why she is so determined to be sober, if it’s so damn bad. Why not go back out and drink some more?

  2. She is a baaaaad alcoholic and she knows she will die if she drinks again. She was dying when she got to the program. Can’t imagine why she cannot get gratitude into her head. And yes, I have assigned her daily gratitude lists…

  3. Syd says:

    Hope that you enjoyed the day and that you feel better. It sounds like a good time to stay indoors and just recuperate.

Leave a Reply

