Going to Alabama

Yesterday my sister called to let me know my brother’s wife had died the night before.  October 15.  My brother called later, he sounds utterly devastated.  They’ve been married since 1967.  I remember meeting her when she was just a girl.  A girl from Alabama, so shy, so sweet, and, oh! the way she talked!  I loved that southern accent.  She has been the only woman in my brother’s life.  First, last, everything.  She has been ill for years now.  Her heart was never much good, I guess it is a blessing it lasted this long.

I desperately want to go to the funeral, but I say I can’t.  In honesty, I could max out a credit card or two and get there and back.  And deal with the consequences of that for the next year or ten.  I so want to be there for my brother.  My other two brothers and my sister are going.  I just don’t think it is the right thing to do to go and be so irresponsible with my money.  Or is it?

After writing this, I talked to my daughter, and prayed, and thought….. and remembered a credit card I haven’t used in years.  In fact, I had to call to activate the card.  I think I am going to just spend the money and go.  My daughter said:  There’s money, and there’s family – nothing can replace family.  I think she might be on to something.

The medication-merry-go-round continues.  My doc is on vacation, but saw my flurry of e-mails from the day before and wrote to tell me to call a nurse in his office – and take no more Prozac.  Now they want to prescribe something to counter the side effects from Prozac.  Honestly?  That is just wacky – if the hypomania, or whatever it was – was caused by Prozac, why wouldn’t you just stop taking it?  So, I don’t care, I am just going to stop taking it and see where that takes me.  I am not going to start adding medications to counter the other medication – this merry-go-round just keeps going around and leads nowhere.   I will just not take medications and see.

I will rely on God and all of the people he has been so kind to put in my life.  And I  will be in Alabama tonight.

Once again, I thank you for your prayers and ask for more – because I am greedy that way.

Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.  Psalm 32:1

This entry was posted in Depression, Faith, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Going to Alabama

  1. Syd says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your sister-in-law. I do think that family is the most important thing. I doubt that you would be content by not going. Travel safely and let us know how you are doing.

  2. luluberoo says:

    I believe funerals are a must do. I’m glad you are going.

    May the TSA treat you kindly and swiftly.

  3. Kelly says:

    you absolutely have my prayers! And safe travels. +JMJ+

  4. Jackie says:

    Sweet Mary, I live in Alabama and while I know your here for family, but I live in Huntsville and if you would like to talk on the phone I would love that.
    Jackie 256-797-2355

  5. Jessie says:

    Travel safe. Prayers are added to the multitudes! ❤

  6. Dave U says:

    Sorry about you and your family’s loss. I think you’ll be glad you went.

  7. Hope says:

    Travelling mercies, Mary. I am sorry for your family’s loss. Death is never easy.

  8. Mary LA says:

    So sorry for your loss and your brother is in my prayers. I hope you have a safe journey to Alabama. The medications merry-go-around fills me with horror.

  9. I’m so sorry, MC. I think you are making the right decision. Insightful, compassionate young lady your daughter is. Be safe.

  10. Mike says:

    Good stuff. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Pam says:

    Oh sugar! I’m sorry this has just been thrown into the mix and mess of life right now.
    I’m glad you are able to go.

Leave a Reply

