A Day Off

 

There’s my front porch, all decked out for halloween.  I spent the weekend doing extreme tasks and my body hurts from it.  Canning apple sauce, cleaning the garage, installing devices to hang a wheelbarrow in the garage, installing a hooks to hang bicycles from.  When I was done with all that, I was exhausted and said I would lay on the couch and watch football, but I just couldn’t do it.  I came outside with my leaf vacuum and rake and bags, and next thing you know, my neighbor was helping me get all the leaves up.  Then we went to her yard and got all her leaves up and bagged.  What a wonderful thing it is to have someone to work with.

I took today off and will meet my friend for breakfast and a movie.  I need this down time.  My whole body hurts.  Oh did I say that before?  sorry.

My daughter is back home and making me laugh.  She is such a joy to have around the house.  Even if she has that slobbering dog with her.

I decided to “save” money by not buying my $50. per year subscription to the Magnificat, a wonderful little publication with prayers and the daily readings for each day.  This morning I saw on Mary in Africa’s blog that today is the feast day of St. Teresa of Avila.   Mary wrote a beautiful reflection on her.  I am going to resubscribe to Magnificat so I know what the heck is going on!

Sorry I am so devoid of ideas this morning.  It is just a vacation day and I have lovely plans for it.

Nothing is more apt to confirm our faith and hope than holding it fixed in our minds that nothing is impossible with God.  — CCC 274

 

This entry was posted in Family, Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Day Off

  1. Annette says:

    I love this post. Simple joys. Motivates me to get off my bum and do some hard work. I spent the weekend wandering around looking at everything that needs to be done and not knowing where or how to begin. Not good and a whole weekend wasted. Enjoy your lunch and movie!

  2. Hope says:

    Just wanted you to know that the bits of quotes at the end of your posts lately are touching that deep place within me. Thank you for posting them. This morning’s bit reduced me to tears.

  3. Mary LA says:

    I bookmark Universalis with the liturgical calendar and look out for special dates. Thanks for the mention — it saddens me that many people don’t know quite how remarkable many of the mystics were.

    And you have been so busy (that apple butter!), good for you to have a rest today.

  4. Dave U says:

    Devoid of ideas? Hah! I don’t think so.
    I’ve had a hard time putting together a morning post lately and don’t know why. I certainly have much (everything) to be grateful for. Writer’s block, I guess.

  5. sydlaughs says:

    Nothing like a day off! Hope that you enjoy it. I remember how precious those days were when I was working full time.

  6. luluberoo says:

    My son makes me laugh every day. Sometimes in disbelief, sometimes because he can be so funny. The daughter is special too, but so serious. Glad I got one of both…God knew that would fill my heart with joy.

Leave a Reply

