Rambling On

Here’s this week’s rose.  I am only in the office for three days this week, but I like to have a rose there anyway.  And I love the little walk on Monday morning to the Brown Palace Hotel’s flower shop.  They are so sweet to me!

Yesterday I dashed off a note to my teacher at Catechetical School to let her know that I won’t be back :-(.  Sadness, and relief.  I really wanted to take that class, but it was too far away from home, too late at night, and too expensive.  I will go back to my icon workshop later this month.  I have an icon to finish for my daughter.  Then my other daughter has requested a huge, extremely complex icon, and is willing to pay for the supplies for it.  I don’t even know if I can do a dragon and a horse… but I will try unless I can talk her into something more simple.

I’m a little bit nervous about work today.  Yesterday I worked for 11 hours on something and I am not happy with the product I had at the end of my labors.  It is going to require probably another day.  Which I can’t do today because I have my big meeting.   It was profoundly discouraging to do research on housing for the mentally ill.  It seems the model we are currently operating under asks the person to first get well, and then provides help.  I think we are still seeing mental illness as a moral deficiency.  Let them talk all they want about “stigma,” but when they are holding housing over someone’s head as a reward for “abstinence,” medication compliance, and treatment adherence, this says their symptoms are volitional.  And that does not make me feel good about the current state of services.

Wanna hear my big problem?  Few of you will understand that this is actually a problem, I talked to my sister yesterday, she “got it.”  None of my clothes fit me anymore.  If you think pants that are too tight are unattractive, try pants bagging off you.  I asked my daughter and her friend if I could get away with a pair of pants yesterday, and they both said no.  They looked terrible.  So I wore a dress.  That looked like a big sack.  Today I will wear a skirt, I think that will work.  It’s the kind of problem you want to have, except it is an expensive problem, because I need to dress nice for work.  I have one pair of pants that fit me right now…. I bought them last month.  I couldn’t believe the size.  Not since the ’80s have I worn this size.

Last night my old high school friend called me, as he does about 2 or 3 times a year.  We talked about the election.  I was thrilled to hear that we agree on this one.  And encouraged.

This is quite the potpourri of topics, isn’t it?

He looked up and saw the rich putting their gifts into the treasury; and he saw a poor widow put in two copper coins.  And he said “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put in more than all of them; for they all contributed out of their abundance, but she out of her poverty put in all the living that she had.”  — Luke 21:1-4

 

 

This entry was posted in Catechetical School, Health, Icons, Roses. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rambling On

  1. Wendy says:

    I so understand your problem…and it seems like a luxury problem, but is a pain when everything in your closet falls off your body and adding a belt just makes the situation worse.

  2. Syd says:

    Sounds like a healthy problem though. Good to keep the weight low. Hope that you have a good day!

  3. luluberoo says:

    When the homeless come to a shelter or warming center (we have these in winter, so people can come inside and sit where it is warm), these are opportunities to meet them where they are. Have someone waiting to offer phone numbers, or rudimentary medical care, or referrals, social services, etc. This population will not seek them out, but the shelter is a place to “catch” them. I don’t know why this is not done.

    • When I started working in mental health, now 18 years ago, I said to my boss “We’ve got this all wrong, we’re treating people as if their illness is deliberate, usually treating them as if they are TRYING to be annoying.”

  4. Dave U says:

    You can have all of my pants. None of them fit me any more either. Except I’m going the wrong way.

Leave a Reply

