Apple Butter

The beginning of the process, 11:00 a.m. Sunday

Cutting, coring, peeling, and weighing

Beginning to cook

And cook…..

And at 6:00 p.m. on Sunday evening, the end product is 7 1/2 jars of deliciousness.

And that might explain why at 7 a.m. on Wednesday morning, I have got a list a mile long of things that must get done.  It’s unnerving, I tell you.

A literature review is due tomorrow.  I have had two months to do it, and guess what?  I am starting to write it today.  I have the journal articles and studies in a file, and I will sit down and read every damn one of them and summarize what I have read.  God help me.

I have a lunch to go to in the middle of the day, but aside from that, I am at home concentrating on housing for the mentally ill.  Hmmmm.  Way close to home!

Look at the birds of the air:  they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not of more value than they?   — Matthew 6:26

 

This entry was posted in Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Apple Butter

  1. Annette says:

    Why do you weigh them? Housing for the mentally ill? Bless your heart Mary. We have a legal homeless camp for our homeless community. Many of whom are substance a users and/or mentally Ill. There are bathrooms, electricity so they can charge their phones or laptops, a kitchen station and a washing station. 35 tents, a couple are left empty for emergency situations…someone shows up with nothing, at least they have a place to sleep for the night. It got them out of the woods and the parks. BUT, I feel like cant we do better than this? We have a nomadic shelter, but many of them prefer to be outdoors in their own space. Anyway…..I just look at them and think of their mothers.

    • The recipe called for 4 lbs. of apples, so I thought I would follow instructions (for a change).
      I think that as long as we look at mental illness as a moral failure, we will always treat those who suffer from it as if they are deliberately messed up and therefore, there is some kind of integrity in insisting they get well BEFORE we will help them.

  2. Dave U says:

    I’m not gonna ask what happened to the other 1/2 jar.

    You’re funny today. hehe

  3. luluberoo says:

    Agree with Dave. That last paragraph is funny.

  4. Syd says:

    The lack of funding for the mentally ill has been a big problem. They are a group that have fallen through the cracks. I wish it were not so. But so many homeless people are mentally ill. Glad hat you are researching it and the background on the issue.

Leave a Reply

