Discernment

A corridor in the church this morning.  Dark and silent in the early hours before dawn.  It was like a gift to me this morning.  Even leaving the house and entering the highway this morning felt like a gift – with no other cars on the road at 4:30.  And one hour in the Eucharistic Adoration Chapel was divine, truly.  If you would like more information on Adoration, I have attached a fairly secular account here.  

I prayed for guidance about the class and I believe I got it.  I believe the message I received is that I am called to be an icon writer.  Though I would love to learn more about the Catechism, I believe I am going to have to do so on my own for now.  I don’t have the time, energy, or money to do both of these things at this time.  I need to chose, and I will chose icon writing.

When I got home, I woke my daughter up so that we could go to the meeting.  It was a glorious meeting.  The topic was the 10th step, and it was good to be there for that.  So grateful to be sitting next to my daughter at an AA meeting.  Once again, someone who knows us both separately was gob-smacked when he realized we belong together.  It was good that the chair person called on her and not on me.  It was good that she talks solid AA, not psycho-babble.

I’m happy.

We stopped at the farmer’s market on the way home and bought a box of apples.  Watching football games all day and making apple butter sounds like a great way to spend this day.

But Moses said to the Lord, “Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either heretofore or since you have spoken to your servant; but I am slow of speech and of tongue”  Then the Lord said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth?  Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind?  Is it not I, the Lord?  Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak.” Exodus 4:10-12

 

This entry was posted in Catechetical School, Family, Gratitude, Icons. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Discernment

  1. Syd says:

    You are really a morning person, MC. I was up at 6 AM but not on the road. I sat down and read some blogs, did my morning meditation. And usually I am still asleep then but my brain had other plans. Hope that you are enjoying the beautiful day.

  2. luluberoo says:

    It’s often harder to decide what we don’t want, than what we do. Glad you came to a decision. I’m sure it was not easy.

    I enjoy the occasional gob-smack.

  3. Hope says:

    That photo is beautiful. Doors and the hallway, shadows and light all so symbolic of the human journey.
    I wouldn’t have known about Icon writing if not for you mentioning it here. It is something I hope to be able to do in the future.
    Eucharistic Adoration has been an incredible comfort to me. I will never forget one time when the priest lifted the Monstrance at the end and blessed us with it. Tears sprang up from most everyone instantly and it was such a sacred experience.

Leave a Reply

