It’s Snowing!

 

Yesterday the trees were on fire with the colors of fall.  Today the snow has descended.  The leaves are covered with freezing snow.  They may just fall off the trees, as they did a couple of years ago when Dave came to visit.  That’s OK.  The other day I pulled into my driveway and saw a baby sitting on my front yard, under the tree, in the leaves, with mother and grandmother taking photos.  They approached me sheepishly, like trespassers, but I told them I was glad they were able to make good use of the prettiness of the day.  They were concerned about the coming snow and the arrival of winter.  I am glad they got pretty pictures of their pretty little girl.

I am tired and have a headache and wish I could stay home today.  There is snow on the roads as well as the grass.  People will freak out on the roads as they do every year with the first snow.  I only have to drive 5 miles to the bus.  And then I can sit in the luxury of the bus and be transported downtown.

Last night I didn’t want to go to my class.  When I was there, I wanted to come home.  I am considering dropping it.  It is too far from home, too late at night, too expensive, and too dry of material for one so tired.  Perhaps when I am retired I can do this in the daytime?  My classmates said they will pray for me.  I will consider this prayerfully this week.

Must get going, one day of work and then a three day weekend.  One of my colleagues is a woman from Scotland.  When I mentioned that Monday is a holiday, she asked me what holiday.  When I told her, she asked how to spell Columbus, and what he did.  It was so odd to recite these things I learned as a child – as an adult – and find it sounded so ridiculous.

By the waters of Babylon, there we sat down and wept, when we remembered Zion.  — Psalm 137:1

 

This entry was posted in Catechetical School, Rest. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Snowing!

  1. luluberool says:

    You are lucky to get Monday off. If you hadn’t reminded me, I would not have known it was a holiday!
    Whee…snow. I like that first fresh snowfall.

  2. Syd says:

    How exciting to have snow! I am glad that you have a three day weekend. Hope that you will relax and enjoy the time at home.

  3. Dave U says:

    Believe it or not, that was 3 years ago when I was there. It was October 3rd. That was a lovely little trip I took and you were a BIG part of it.

  4. Mary LA says:

    Snow already! You sound so tired Mary Christine, I hope you get some rest.

Leave a Reply

