Amazing Race

I walked by my bedroom in the early morning while getting ready for the race and saw all those reflective eyes staring at me.  I think every bit of running clothing I have has reflective bits on it.  My whole bed was shining!

I had intended to take a photo of the lake as the sun rose, as I did the year before.  In the dark, I got into the porta-potty line.  By the time I got out of line, it was full daylight outside.  I spent 45 minutes in that line.  No photos.  Later I decided to take no photos at all.  I think it is the first race I have ever done without taking pictures.  I really concentrated on this race.

I had asked my 26 year old friend to stick with me and push me to go faster.  She had a marathon last weekend, and is doing Chicago next weekend.  She didn’t mind going at my pace.  But she did push me and I took 28 minutes off the time I did last year at the same race!  This year I have no injuries – I cannot even imagine saying such a thing!  No injuries.  I got no blisters!  I had basically no pain during the race.  At about 6 miles, I had an amazing revelation…. this is my goal race.  I do not need to be conservative so that I can do a race later in the season.   This is it!  If I can’t walk for a week, so be it.

This race is HARD but FUN.  So many hills.  Even the elites were walking up those hills.  One of them passed me and said “this is the great equalizer.”  The hills are!  The river crossings were great fun.  I just had a fabulous time, and utterly trashed my shoes.  But they were close to being finished anyway.

Those socks will never come clean again either.

I decided not to do the race later in October.  This was my goal race, I trained for it all summer.  The training paid off and I had a good race.  I do not want to taint my season with a race that may not be a great experience (I did it before and didn’t like it).  So I am calling it good for 2012.  I will do maintenance through the winter and do a favorite spring half marathon and perhaps a fall marathon next year.  Happiness!

My daughter fixed us a wonderful treat after I got home and had a bath.  We had olive tapenade, goat cheese with cranberries, hummus, wonderful thin crispy grainy crackers, and tomatoes.  It was wonderfully salty and fatty.  And later, we decided to go out for a Dairy Queen banana split!  520 calories of delicious sugary fattiness!  I don’t think I have had one of those since I was a child.  But it was good.  In a way that I won’t repeat.

I am so incredibly grateful for my good health and good friends and family.  This was truly a stellar day.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight.  In all your ways acknowledge hi, and he will make straight your paths.  Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord, and turn away from evil.  It will be healing to your flesh and refreshment to your bones.  — Psalm 3:5-8

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Gratitude, Health, Race. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Amazing Race

  1. Syd says:

    I’m really glad that you did well with the race and enjoyed the day. It does sound like a bright and shining day!

  2. mike says:

    Thumbs up

  3. luluberoo says:

    Great strategy to push yourself on this race. 28 minutes is a very significant time gain!

  4. Dave U says:

    Wow!
    This is really good to hear. All of it.

  5. patty says:

    Yay Mary! No way are you boring, sista! I read the article and love Sister Joan’s use of the word “hootenanny.”

    • I liked it too. But thought of the Mass I have been going to, where they bring the children up front so they can play tiny tambourines while singing. Honestly, I think it is atrocious.

Leave a Reply

