Wednesday Morning

Woke to the ringing of milk bottles being carried to the little box on my front porch.  The sounds and smells of rain on grass and fallen leaves.  As I write, I am eating my morning slop of steel cut oats, strawberries, flax seeds, and a splash of milk – fresh off the milk truck.  My heart is so full of gratitude for the departure of the depression.  Every little joy is multiplied when you haven’t felt it for a while.

Have an appointment with the chiropractor this afternoon.  This is quite an extravagance, since I have to pay for this “out of pocket,” my insurance doesn’t pay for her.  My hope is to get my back straightened out today, but perhaps more importantly, to get the little sheets of paper that she has given me a thousand times with the exercises I need to do to strengthen my core.  I never do the exercises, and eventually those sheets of paper end up being clutter that I throw away.  Not this time!  I will do them!

I still did my four miles yesterday because once I got going, I felt pretty good.  I really hope this therapy today will do the trick.  I am not sure I have ever felt quite this fit.  I purchased a pair of pants earlier this week and was shocked to find that my normal size is too big, I went down to a size I haven’t been in since my 30s.  I have been taking my resting heart rate in the morning – it was 46 yesterday.  And I am trying to get used to the sound of “vegetarian” when talking about myself.  I have thought I am just stopping eating meat.  But I guess there is a name for that, and I might as well use it.  My daughter is now vegan, and I hope to get there some day, but that is too big of a leap for me at present.

I made myself sit down and get quiet to do my homework last night.  I have been avoiding it.  I had done all the reading, and some meditation on what I read, but I seemed to be afraid to write the first word down on paper.  I got it done last night.  Part of the assignment was to read Wisdom 13:1-9 and then read it again each day and reflect on it.  Imagine my amazement to discover that I am finding different meaning every single day!

I have to be at work early today, so I must vamanos!

nor did they recognize the craftsman while paying heed to his works; but they supposed that either fire or wind or swift air, or the circle of the stars, or turbulent water, or the luminaries of heaven were the gods that rule the world.  — Wisdom of Solomon 13:1-2

This entry was posted in Catechetical School, Depression, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wednesday Morning

  1. sydlaughs says:

    I hope your back will be better after the chiro. I need to go as well. Finding the time these days is my excuse. I feel much better not eating meat, wheat, dairy, soy or corn products. Then there is little left to eat–LOL.

  2. Annette says:

    I’m so glad to hear your depression is gone! Mine is brewing but it’s the monthly sort and it will be gone soon enough. Ugh. I just found a cookbook…1001 low fat vegetarian recipes. : ) my poor meat and potatoes hubs won’t know what hit him! Lol good for you for making the changes you feel are necessary and for your downsizing! That’s always exciting! I hope the chiropractor can get you comfortably back on the road again.

    • I am not a low-fat girl. Every time I try low-fat, I end up gaining weight. So, it is better if I just eat healthy fats. Thanks for your good wishes, I think they worked! I am feeling better.

  3. Mary LA says:

    Good to hear you sounding so upbeat! And I love close reading of biblical texts, there is always something more to discover.

  4. Glad to hear you are feeling better!

    Mmmmmm…fresh dairy milk!

Leave a Reply

