Saturday Morning

The sounds and smells of Saturday morning.  A load of laundry in the washer, swishing and swirling, with the clean smell of regular old detergent – not scented up with air freshener or fabric softener.  The smell of wet grass and leaves as the sprinkler runs.  Looking up vegan recipes on the internet and writing them down.  Will probably buy Scott Jurek’s book when I have a few nickels to rub together.

I sent off an e-mail last night telling my coach that I would not be joining them this morning.  Thank God I did that.  I would have had to wake up at 4:30 or 5:00, then drive north for 25 miles, run, eat, and head home.  In a hurry for my hair appointment.

As it is, I have had a leisurely cup of coffee, had time to meditate, time to look up recipes, time to clean up the doggie debris in the back yard before turning on the sprinkler, time to gather up towels and dish cloths to throw in the washer.  What a luxury time is!

My race is next weekend.  I am very excited about it.  I will get on the treadmill for 6 miles this morning, then next week I have very low mileage.  Until the race.  I have really trained for this one, so we will see how this affects my performance.  Of all the half-marathons I have done (12), this is the only one I have chosen to repeat.  And it is the slowest I have ever done a half – like by 25 minutes!  But I loved it.  It has three river crossings, it is beautiful, it is hard and hilly, there are no even surfaces anywhere.  My feet got destroyed doing this race last year.  The trails are always canted one way or another.  Uphill or downhill, feet going sideways, ankles screaming for relief.  Sounds like fun, huh?

I’ll get my hair done at 11:00.  Hopefully this will be my last step towards my own natural color.  I got it dyed brown earlier this summer.  Then had it done again because the blonde always comes back.  Now I have an inch or so of my own color, and my colorist is going to try to match that as best she can and put low lights throughout my hair.  Then hopefully it can just grow.  I am surprised that there is not much grey in it.  I thought there would be.  Probably once I get it grown out I will decide that it is worth the money to keep it colored.  But I won’t know that until I try my own color – at least to see what it is!

I have homework to do!  Biblical School homework used to take approximately 5 hours a week, and it looks like this is more difficult than that.  I will get started this afternoon.

I cannot describe the joy in my heart to have this peaceful morning.  The joy probably came before the peaceful morning – because I am having this morning because of some good choices I made.  I am grateful for the dawning of light in my life again after those dark months of depression.  I am also grateful for the depression because it caused me to question many things and also change many things.  It was needed.  My life had gone so very stagnant.

It feels fresh and new this morning.  Thank you God!

 

This entry was posted in Catechetical School, Depression, Gratitude, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saturday Morning

  1. Annette says:

    I had a day like that on Thursday. Home all alone, got to cook, do laundry, straighten, I left the “doggie debris” (love that term) for someone else though. Bless your heart Mary. I have a whole new appreciation for your half marathon conquests. Someday, maybe I will get to post my own *one* conquest of a half marathon. :o)

  2. sydlaughs says:

    Glad that you rested and are having a not so hectic Saturday. I’m enjoying being back in Virginia. It has been a nostalgic trip but in a good way.

  3. Dave U says:

    Fresh and new.
    But not like old detergent.

  4. luluberoo says:

    Love it all! It should be cooler (perfect) running weather for the race. I can’t race anymore…burned out on that. But I can enjoy wet grass, 6 mile leisure runs, and getting my hair done.

    I’m interested in what topics you are studying.

  5. Pam says:

    I needed some inspiration this morning and I felt it come right thru your blog to me!

Leave a Reply

