Feast of St. Matthew

Another great Feast in the church, which reminds us that Jesus did not surround himself with “holy” people, but sinners.  Those who needed him.   Those who were transformed by him.  Those who had many sins to be forgiven and in response have shown great love.

I loved, loved, loved the Catechetical Class last night.  I am more excited about the Catechism of the Catholic Church than I ever thought I would be.  Spending two years studying it will be wonderful.  I am so grateful for the e-mail I got on Monday, because this wasn’t even on my radar.  But now I will be spending Thursday evenings in class, and likely Sunday afternoons and evenings doing homework.  I have a lot of homework due next week already, and frankly I cannot wait to get to it!

I’m going into the office this morning for the first time in several days.  I have been sitting in very long meetings for a couple of days.  I have had to stifle yawns in both of them…. which to me is about the height of rudeness.  I am exhausted to my bones.  I may very well not go out with the running group and just do my little 6 miles from home tomorrow.  I am tapering – the race is only 9 days away.  Very excited about that.

Can I brag for one second?  About a month ago my boss realized I could write.  I was so thrilled that she could finally see some of my true talent.  Later I got an assignment I was thrilled about.  Yesterday I got an e-mail from a member of the executive leadership team, and it said: “I want to offer both my gratitude and my praise; the analysis was at once concise, thoughtful and objective.  Even achieving one of those outcomes would have been welcome, but meeting all three was really like hitting it out of the park!”  Oh YAY.  Now maybe I will be given more work that is a good fit for my abilities!  SO grateful that I hung in there through those awful first 6 months.

Grateful to be looking forward to a Friday at work and then a weekend at home.  Oh, the daughter has not yet come back.  She is staying with her friend who is closer to her school now that she has no transportation.  I do miss her.  I don’t much miss the dog though.  When she was here for some reason, I could sleep late in the morning – sometimes I would wake up and it would be light out already!  The last two mornings, I have woken up at my normal time of just before 4 a.m.

He heard this and said, “Those who are well do not need a physician, but the sick do.  Go and learn the meaning of the words, I desire mercy, not sacrifice.  I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.  — Matthew 9:12-13

This entry was posted in Catechetical School, Family, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feast of St. Matthew

  1. Kelly says:

    SO many beautiful things! God is so good. I am also very glad you hung in there on all the different fronts these past months. 🙂

  2. sydlaughs says:

    Have a good evening, MC.

  3. Mary LA says:

    So glad to hear about the new catechetics course going so well and the writing being recognised.

  4. luluberoo says:

    We knew you could write!

Leave a Reply

