Healthy Hands

As left the church after an hour of Adoration, I saw this beautiful sky and it struck me as being gorgeous.  Unfortunately, I didn’t take the time to get the photo set up well.  But it will always remind me of a Sunday evening in September, beautifully spent in silent Adoration.

I don’t usually write about weight and diet because I don’t want anyone’s advice unless I ask for it.  Since March this year, I have adopted a whole new way of eating.  I have lost just over 20 lbs. and in the last few days, I have been at my lowest weight in 15 years.  I have found that I don’t have stomach aches if I don’t eat white bread or sugar – I knew these were not good for me before, but now I avoid them like the plague.  The weirdest thing is that I have found that if I avoid meat, my arthritis is virtually pain free.  So, although I am not vegan (yet), I have almost stopped eating meat.  It is just not worth it to me to have hands that are painful and stiff when I can eat other things and not feel like I am old and arthritic.

When anticipating old age back in my youth, I just prayed that my eyes and my hands would hold out so that I could knit and paint.  When I realized my hands were full of arthritis, it frightened me.  I will do just about anything to keep my hands functional.  I’ll let you know how it goes, OK?

For now we see in a mirror dimly, bt then face to face.  Now I know in part; then I shall understand fully, even as I have been fully understood.  So faith, hope, love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.  — 1 Corinthians 13:13

This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Healthy Hands

  1. Annette says:

    Are we talking red meat or poultry too? I have been changing my eating habits and have lost 50lbs since early April. I have already eliminated red meat…..but chicken would be hard! Good for you Mary. It feels good to take care of our bodies and heal some of the natural occurrences of aging just by giving a little extra care. We aren’t maintenance free like we used to be!

  2. daisyanon says:

    This is interesting Mary Christine, I am a huge believer in the role of food and drink in alleviating things like arthritis and other health issues. I look forward to reading more about your experiences.

  3. luluberoo says:

    You are preaching to the choir on this! There is an indisputable link between what we put in our bodies and how our bodies function. Arthritis is inflammation, and environmental contaminants, food, and medications are either inflammatory or anti inflammatory. Depends on your body, your lifestyle, your activity level etc what will work best for you.

    I thought when I saw that last pic you had lost weight. You look fabulous, and good for you for being pro active about your health.

  4. Mary LA says:

    I pay attention to what I eat and how and when I exercise, along with the balance that comes from meditation and relaxation — let us know how your new diet goes, Mary Christine. The light in your photo is so luminous.

  5. Syd says:

    I watched Food Inc. the other evening. It has made me realize I am on the right path with eliminating toxic foods from my diet.

Leave a Reply

