Life Altering Week

photo.JPG

Well, obviously, one might think I was referencing world affairs of the week.  But that would be a different subject on a different blog.

In my little corner of this globe, my household size has tripled.  My daughter says she is sleeping soundly, for the first time in a year.  She says she is so relieved to be here.  I believe she will be here for a couple of months.  But I know her and I know that she could very well come home from school today and tell me she is leaving.

It is so very different for me.  First, let me say, I am also sleeping like a rock.  This morning I slept until 6:30 and then had to get to the meeting without a bath!  I think it may be that I feel safer with that huge dog in the house.  That would be so weird!  And then, my daughter is accustomed to going to the school for many hours each day to do her homework because she does not have a working computer – I told her she could use mine.  Never thinking she would be using the computer when I actually want to!  WHAT?  But I am a mother of a 33 year old woman who never loved school, and if she wants to get up at 4:00 a.m. to work on her homework, guess who is not going to complain?  (hint: me)

And here is where the life-alteringness comes in:  I am living with a large, threatening looking dog.  I have had a 55 year history of terror of dogs.  Not just a little bit of fear, but a real, bone chilling terror.  We are getting along splendidly.  It took a few days for me to not think he was looking at me funny.  He follows me all over the house.  When I cook, he lays on the kitchen floor.  On the rare occasion when I sit at my desk at my computer, he sits at my feet.  When we go outside, he stays on the deck with me (except when he goes to use the “facilities”).  Honestly, this could be the end of a fear that has been debilitating.   I really believe that.

A co-worker counseled me on how best to approach this dog on his first day here.  She had overheard me talking about the dog and asked me about him.  I told her about my fear and about the dog.  She said I should not try to reach out to him directly, but to let him come to me.  It was the best advice!

I think it is now time to turn on football games and sleep on the sofa.  Let’s see if it works this week.

What does it profit, my brethren, if a man says he has faith but has not works?  Can his faith save him?  If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and in lack of daily food, and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what does it profit?  So faith by itself, if it has no works, is dead.”

This entry was posted in Family, Fear. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Life Altering Week

  1. Hope says:

    That is incredible about the dog and how you are experiencing his presence in your home.
    I get the safety factor. We have no outside dog for the first time in over 20 years. That led to a black bear being in our yard a few weeks ago. All our outside dogs have had a distinct ‘bear in vicinity bark’ and I guess I took that for granted. I’m going to get a big outside dog in the spring.

    Love the St. James scripture, too.

  2. Dave U says:

    Thanks for taking the time to write today.

  3. luluberoo says:

    Your co worker’s advice might work with difficult people also!
    So much happiness in this post. You write with a full heart, I can “hear” it.

  4. Syd says:

    Great that you are getting along with the dog. I hope that he will help you to get over your fear of them.

  5. Mary LA says:

    This post is such music to my ears because an animal companion can be such a joy and reassurance. Not all big dogs are safe and I never assume that a strange dog is going to behave well, but when a dog is treated with affection, the love he or she gives in return — that loyalty and protectiveness — is amazing. And good to hear about your daughter studying!

  6. Awesome that the relationship with dogs is changing and growing. It all starts with one doesn’t it… One bad can ruin it and one good in the right heart and attitude can repair it. 🙂

    I love the scripture today! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

