Hurry-land

There’s me and the big honkin’ dog – who is squinting for some reason.  Last night I came home with dread at the thought of being alone with the dog, and then some of that dread came to fruition.  I was afraid when I was alone with him, and called my daughter while she was at school for advice.  Later, I sat here at my computer, and the dog came and sat at my feet and gnawed on a large gnarly bone.  Oh, the sounds he eminates!  It was comforting.  Perhaps I can better come at this dog obliquely.

I am running late.  I have a hugely important meeting at 8:30 and I need to take an earlier bus, and I don’t even know which bus or what I am going to wear yet.  Having other people in the house kind of ends my focus.  And that is probably a good thing.

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims his handiwork.  — Psalm 19:1

 

This entry was posted in Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hurry-land

  1. sydlaughs says:

    You both look happy here. He actually may be smiling too! Glad that the dog is so content with you. And you may get there being content with him!

  2. Hope says:

    Love that picture! I took a big dent out of a decades old fear this past weekend. Who knew it was possible?

  3. soberinoctober says:

    I see you and the dog becoming good friends and it will break your heart when he and the daughter move out. That’s how it works 🙂 Hot tip: run with him (as much as he can.) You will have the happiest pup on the planet. The exercise is the best thing for behavior modification and it will help you bond.

  4. Mary LA says:

    Bravo for you Mary Christine! You look lovely and calm and the dog looks like a great old softie.

  5. Dave U says:

    That dog loves you!

    ruff ruff

  6. patty says:

    You look great with that dog!
    (Hey Mary, I passed)

  7. luluberoo says:

    You look chic, the dog looks scary. I’m very frightened of dogs also (except for my daughter’s goofy Boston Terrier). BUT–he does look like he will keep you safe!

  8. Jessie says:

    A fun new adventure. Dogs are definitely warm companionship, comforting.

    I felt terrible when I found out my stepdaughter was mauled by a dog when she was little. She also did something not realizing it would incite them, that doesn’t stop her from re-feeling the anxiety of that moment when a similar circumstance occurs. Like deja vu, it just happens.

    I hope dog is a good addition to the family!

Leave a Reply

