Psycho Math

The alarm rang this morning at 3:00 a.m. so that I could be 25 miles away from home by 5 a.m.  for the early start with a few of my friends who were doing high mileage today.  I was supposed to do 12.  But after a while your math skills go away, and you are stuck doing your best, knowing full well it will be psycho math.  Anyone who has run a marathon knows what this is.  Anyway, I was off by .65 miles, so I did 12.65 instead of 12.  But I actually felt good!  I could have gone further!

As I drove to the start, I turned off NPR and turned on music.  And I found I actually sang along and liked listening to music.  This is one of my finest indicators of level of depression.  When I start getting depressed, I cannot stand to listen to music – well, I cannot stand to listen to rock music, I can only stand classical music.  When I get well, I like good old rock ‘n’ roll again.  So happy to report that today I was singing and tapping the steering wheel.  Thank you dear Lord.

I hope to see my older granddaughters today.  They have been gone all summer to their grandfather’s (my ex) home in Montana.  I have seen photos of them since they have been back, and the 12 year old turned into a young lady while she was gone!  She is beautiful!  I can’t wait to see them.

I am about as happy as can be this morning.  It is a cool morning, I got to see my friends and do an easy 12+ miles, and I should get to see my grandchildren later.  What on earth could be better than that?  (If you know, don’t tell me and spoil my fun.)

They shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run and not be weary.  — Isaiah 40:31

 

This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Psycho Math

  1. luluberoo says:

    My gym is the Jewish Community Center in my town. That quote from Isiah is stenciled on one of the walls! I was so happy when I saw it on your blog….

    happiness must be contagious!!

  2. soberinoctober says:

    When I’m depressed, I find any kind of levity grating. So, I understand.

    And, go you! on your 12.65 miles 🙂

  3. sydlaughs says:

    Good for you on the mileage. It looks like a nice morning there.

  4. Jessie says:

    🙂 That is good news, glad you are up and singin’ to the radio 🙂

  5. Mary LA says:

    What a gorgeous run in the sunrise! And I like to think of you singing along!

  6. patty says:

    Gorgeous morning here too. Although I am not near as ambitious as you today! I cannot think of anything nicer than being filled with joy at the thought of seeing your grandchildren today. Have fun!
    Patty

Leave a Reply

