Righteous Indignation

Another photo from last year’s race

This atmosphere is toxic.  I spent a fair bit of time this morning looking at websites, not blogs, and getting angry.  Not a good idea.  Part of me says “Yeah!  They are WRONG!  I need to speak up!  I need to…… ”  What I need to do is detach a bit and back the hell off.  I think.

Maybe I need to switch off the television set until Wednesday, November 7.  I got to see my non-alcoholic daughter yesterday for an unexpected and unplanned lunch and she suggested “why don’t you watch movies?”  Well, why don’t I?  And as I am writing this, it occurs to me that I am paying $16. a month to Audible.com for a book a month to listen to (while I am riding the bus and knitting).  But I could cancel that and get HBO instead!  I have already stopped having the TV playing in the morning while I am blogging and getting ready for work.  I am just happier in the silence.  But I need to plant myself for an hour or so every night and just sit and knit.  And it is pretty boring to stare at a wall while doing so.

Perhaps that “nun on the bus” was my bottom, so to speak, so that I can switch off and live more happily.  For some reason, I am reminded of Timothy Leary’s “Turn on, tune in, drop out” of the crazy 60s.  Maybe I would like to do the opposite.

OK, another stream-of-consciousness post.  I have come to love this blog because I am not proselytizing any organization and I do not feel limited to being “happy joyous and free” 24/7.

If you were of this world, the world would love its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.  — John 15:19

This entry was posted in Faith, Meta-blogging, Thrift. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Righteous Indignation

  1. patty says:

    Hi Mary,
    Stop by and see me sometime!
    Patty

  2. Annette says:

    Ok, call me stupid…but are you referring to politics here? ; )
    I have audible too and I need to download a new book. I’m stuck on one I’m not really enjoying and I probably have 4 credits for new books! Netflix is our friend with lots of immediate watching options…..whatever they call that. Deep breath.

    • Of course it’s politics! I’ve had two books so far I haven’t completed. War and Peace with the worst possible narrator. And now a too long biography of George Washington that I doubt I will ever finish. It is a wonderful sleeping remedy though.

  3. Mary LA says:

    Even right here on the other side of the world, there is babble, dissension and argument drifting across. Movies sounds a good distraction, there are so many really good films worth watching again.

  4. I will apologize for this divided country. I am sorry it is leaking all the way over to Africa. Amazing.

    I need to start with the movies – pronto!

  5. luluberoo says:

    I’ve mentioned before I haven’t watched TV in many, many years. But I DO watch movies, mostly documentaries. That is my down time, I really enjoy them. As for politics..meh…

    • I have always been a political junkie. Until recently, it hasn’t actually upset me on a personal level. But I didn’t used to be a person whose income has eroded over 4 years and has watched herself go from middle class to the working poor.

  6. Dave U says:

    Regards all the political talk.
    It is what it is.
    If we were all the same, most of us wouldn’t be necessary.

  7. sydlaughs says:

    I don’t enjoy the divisiveness but do enjoy the intelligent discussions.

    I have started watching series like Downton Abbey, Six Feet Under and Deadwood. When one ends, I watch another. And these are the reasons that I stay up too late. I would be better off sleeping I think!

  8. Pam says:

    Well, we don’t turn the TV on at my house but I’m in a busy work place with “talk” and I get my news on the computer……..I holler at the comments on the computer a lot. Mostly I say…”YOU DAMN IDIOTS!!!”

    • I’ve been shouting similar things to my television set. And the people at work are very political – on the other side of the aisle. It feels very much like I am under attack. The thing I want to know is: why is it that they feel OK to be mean and hateful, and I have to be nice? It isn’t FAIR! WAH!

  9. Jessie says:

    The people at my workplace are VERY vocal about politics and sex….not in a professional way (IMHO and to my discomfort) Its a small small office with 6 employees. It’s very … one of these things is not like the others for me because i don’t happen to agree, but… hopefully this experience will continue to give me an opportunity to practice restraint and joyful giving without expectations (slowly slowly slowly) practicing principles with determination. I don’t guess it’s as easy to get practice in an easy atmosphere or group is it? 🙂 It’s certainly hard not to yell at tv or computer when I see something that elicits a reaction from deep down inside.

Leave a Reply

