Labor Day 2012

Oh, it’s been a busy weekend.  A happy weekend.  I felt ill yesterday and took an afternoon nap.  When I awoke, I knew I couldn’t just stay in the house because I find that so depressing.  So, I went out to buy my vitamins at Whole Foods (holy crap – $85.!) and went to Target for a new bathroom rug.

Oh, but I didn’t buy a bathroom rug!  I bought these great little bins and boxes.  And decided that I HAD to clean the room where I keep all my knitting stuff, my painting stuff, my icon stuff, my gift wrap, my sewing machine and sewing stuff, well, you get the idea.  Recently I have taken to closing the door because I couldn’t stand to look at the mess.


Wouldn’t you agree it is horrible?  Out of that room, I took one whole black plastic leaf bag of trash, and one whole black plastic leaf bag of mail that has to be shredded.  Yikes.  When I let things go, I don’t kid around.

I estimated that it would take me two hours to clean the room.  Boy, was I wrong!  It took four hours.  But I am so happy I did it.  It is an awful feeling to have crap like that in your house – it is for me anyway.  It seems my life stopped on January 25, 2012 when I started a new job and all my energy was taken for that…. not to mention an epic battle with Major depression.

That’s what it looks like now!  Much better!  Could still use some work, but perhaps on another weekend, I could get to that.

And it wouldn’t be a holiday weekend without an obligatory photo of my front porch.

And now I am enjoying a nice new beverage that I have dreamed up.  Orange juice has a lot of potassium, and a lot of calories.  My coach said quinine is good for leg cramps, so to get some tonic water.  I put them both together, and presto!  I have a really yummy drink with potassium and quinine.

Have a nice remainder of your weekend.  I know I will.

It is good to give thanks to the Lord, to sing praises to your name, O Most High; to declare your merciful love in the morning, and your faithfulness by night.  — Psalm 92:1-2

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Depression, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Labor Day 2012

  1. Hope says:

    I spent time creating order out of chaos in my office a few weeks ago. It felt wonderful to have it done. Love the games on your shelf. I have a cupboard with many of those same games in it.

  2. shadowlands says:

    Your posts give me the strength for my early morning shifts (where I often feel alone and frightened, getting up in the mornings)..
    i love the way you describe life and your overcoming of people, places and things. I am so blessed to have discovered your journey. Thank you, Mary C. Ros.

  3. Dave U says:

    Your new drink is ……..
    PotNine.

  4. Pam says:

    I loved catching up with your life this morning!
    I would know your beautiful front porch anywhere.

  5. luluberoo says:

    I feel good when everything is in it’s place!
    And you’re front porch is lovely.

  6. Mary LA says:

    What a lovely home you have — and such a productive Labor Day.

  7. I love tonic water and I love orange juice and yet I’ve never thought to combine them. Awesome.

  8. Syd says:

    I fix a fauxtini with mango juice and club soda with a dash of bitters. So good!

Leave a Reply

