Feeling Puny

A gorgeous maple leaf last year as my daughter and I walked the Freedom Trail in Boston.

I have been in bed, chair, or sofa for 24 hours now.  Last night I didn’t go to Mass or to the party, I stayed at home and knitted.  This morning, I went to Mass and did my grocery shopping and then came home exhausted and decided to sit and watch the Sunday morning news shows I recorded earlier today.  (Why are all the men suddenly wearing purple neck ties?  I like them, but they are suddenly on everyone!)

I hate to “waste” a holiday weekend being sick or tired or whatever it is.  But I can be grateful that I have the time to chill.   My son and family weren’t able to come for dinner today because my son is sick himself.

As we head into the “silly season” of politics, I am reminded that 4 years ago I had my last conversation with a man I loved.  He and I got into an argument about politics when he got so angry with me he hung up on me.  I wasn’t too worried about it because I figured we would talk again after the election.  I called him after the election and left him a message which he never returned.  In late November 2008, he was found dead in his home.  And I never got to talk to him again…… We really never know…….

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return; the Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.   — Job 1:21

 

 

This entry was posted in Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Feeling Puny

  1. Hope says:

    I hope you feel better soon! Oh, that scripture is a hard won amen. i’ve said it through tears many times.

  2. sydlaughs says:

    No, one never knows. Life can change in just a moment.

  3. Jessie says:

    Reminds me to really appreciate those I love

  4. Mary LA says:

    Mary Christine, I hope you get better soon. American politics sounds more deadly than silly to me — frightening how people are polarised as the demographics shift across a nation, the church divided and some say in schism, gender battles and racist tensions, no end to the wars abroad. It must be so hard to live peacefully or fearlessly with all of that going on around you. And I recall your friend’s death, no time to say goodbye or reconcile, a tragic death for such a good person.

    • Mary, You are right, it is deadly. I think the stakes are so high in this election. But I would prefer to think of it as silliness – all these talking heads, all these crazy evil ads, all the phone calls, etc. The polarization is the worst. It is like we are two countries. After Mass on Sunday, the deacon read “A Guide to Catholic Teaching and Voting.” There were heads shaking violently, and other heads nodding.

  5. luluberoo says:

    The leaf reminds me of my favorite time of year in Michigan, coming soon. Feel better!

  6. I hope you feel better soon!

  7. Did you feel that?

    That was me just praying for you.

Leave a Reply

