The Joy of Saturday Morning

Eight hard miles today.  It was so good.  Eight hard miles with my most difficult person.  It was so good.  We kind of got stuck with each other when our common friend peeled off at 2 miles.  We were both going eight, so we were stuck with each other.  It was so bad earlier this morning, she wouldn’t say hello to me.  She’s the one who has made snide remarks about AA to me – when I have never told anyone in the group I am in AA.

Just after two miles, she tripped and had a bad fall.  Scary bad.  She scraped up her knee, elbow, hand, and face!  I was so afraid she would have a concussion.  I got her kleenex and water and cleaned up her wounds best I could out in the middle of nowhere.  I offered to go back with her, but she wanted to go on. Bless her heart, she did all eight miles.  Slowly, but who cares.  We got to talk.  I felt that her iciness was melting away.  I hope so.  It is not that fun when someone clearly doesn’t like you but there is nothing you can do…. maybe this was God’s way of getting us to see each other.

It feels more like October this morning than August.  I am actually kind of cold and will take a hot bath now (when I should be taking a cold one).  I am thrilled because I have not one other plan this weekend.  I will go to Mass tonight and a meeting tomorrow morning, and that is absolutely it!  I am thrilled.

There is a part of me that believes it is a little bit sinful to not have anything to do.  It is such an indulgence.  Such a luxury.  But it is good.  I do have work that I brought home.  But I love the project I am working on so much, that doesn’t even feel like work.

Thank you God for this day.  Thank you God for this joy I feel in my heart, and the peace I feel in my mind.  This is nothing short of miraculous to me.

If we have died with him, we shall also live with him;

If we endure, we shall also reign with him;

if we deny him, he also will deny us;

if we are faithless, he remains faithful – for he cannot deny himself.

2 Timothy 2:11-13

 

This entry was posted in Friends, Gratitude, Hope, Mass, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Joy of Saturday Morning

  1. Hope says:

    I love weekends like that. I hope you enjoy it to the fullest!
    I’ve been meaning to tell you that the scripture and other quotes you end your posts with give me a boost, too.

  2. Kelly says:

    Hooray for peace! So happy that you are experiencing that 🙂

  3. Syd says:

    There are no coincidences.

  4. Mary LA says:

    Such a moving opportunity to break through barriers and I hope she does some hard thinking — I love how you reached and out and helped her, Mary Christine. There is a French term used by Pascal, disponible, which means to be constantly open, willing, responsive and available when opportunities are offered to us.

    Like Hope, I also enjoy the quotations at the end of your posts, and I know how much they mean to you. We are perhaps the last generation to be so deeply steeped in Scripture and liturgical poetry, the music and prayers many generations grew up hearing. For a while I bookmarked some Christian blogs but can’t bear the politics and nitpicking

    • I am not happy she was hurt, but I was grateful for the opportunity to show her I mean her no harm. I hope to remain always open, willing, responsive and available – That’s almost a paraphrase of what I pray every morning.

      I couldn’t handle most of the religious blogs for the same reason. They make me a little bit nuts.

Leave a Reply

