Rose on Fire

Last night I was wandering around the neighborhood and this rose caught my attention.  It is in my beloved neighbor’s garden.  I didn’t realize the camera flash was on, and I was stunned to see what it did to this gorgeous rose.

At 4:13 this morning, I awoke to the sound of milk bottles ringing against each other.  I ordered delivery in a weak moment last weekend at a farmers market.  Oh, I didn’t regret it this morning!  A pint of cream, a dozen eggs, and a carton of yogurt.  What a lovely way to wake up on a Wednesday morning!

Sometimes I wish I were not so open about being a Catholic.  It is not easy.  I am so sick of answering questions and listening to diatribes about abortion and ridiculous ignorant comments made by stupid politicians, I can barely stand it.  I will have to go to confession on Saturday because I got so frustrated last night during a phone call, I took the name of God in vain.   Oh, how easy it would be to agree with everyone.  But I don’t believe that is what I am called to do.  No wonder communities become insular.  What did I do to deserve being attacked all day.  Friends, neighbors, co-workers, boss, sister… OY.

But today is a glorious day – I think – the sun is not up yet.  I am going to hop on the treadmill and do the miles I was supposed to do last night, but couldn’t.  I had no idea a cortisone injection would make me feel kind of ill all over.  And, my goodness!  How my thumb hurts today!  Hopefully this will help.  Next stop, day surgery.

I am grateful, grateful, grateful to be among the living today.  Grateful to have an office to go to.  Grateful I am sober and healthy enough to go there.  God has been so very good to me.

Mary LA’s post of today recalled this verse to me:

Ask, and it will be given you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.  For every one who asks receives, and he who seeks finds, and to him who knocks it will be opened.  Or what man of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone?  Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent?  — Matthew 7:7-10

 

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Gratitude, Roses. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rose on Fire

  1. Dave U says:

    Sorry about your cortisone pain. It’ll get better, I’m sure.

    Regarding the attacks, try being a gay man (not by choice) in a homophobic world.

  2. You are right of course Dave. Thanks for putting it into perspective for me.

    Sometimes I get a teensy bit dramatic, as I did in this post. Sorry.

  3. luluberoo says:

    People look at me and ask “why do you want to be Jewish”. I consider that very personal, and have come up with a stock generic, non controversial answer.

    I hope they told you to ice your thumb. It helps.

  4. Mary LA says:

    That rose is incandescent! And the dairy deliveries sound early but wonderful. I’m very self-protective when it comes to political or religious discussions. with others, but I know how it feels to get into those awful argumentative name-calling stand-offs. I hope your thumb feels better — that gospel verse in one of my favourites.

    • Mary, I need to emulate your self-protection. I feel strongly that I should have integrity and quietly be able to speak my mind, but the environment right now is so volatile, I need to just shut my mouth.

  5. Pam says:

    I work with a very devout Catholic woman. Yesterday she had a hand written sign posted on her cube that said “If God passes down all the answers to me, I’ll let you know.” She’s a funny devout Catholic woman…….like you.

  6. Syd says:

    It has been a volatile week on issues about abortion. I don’t like the feeling that no matter what is said, someone will disagree vehemently. Civil discourse has turned rancorous. I’m tired of it all. I will be glad when some kind of normalcy occurs around politics–if that can occur again after this terribly divisive time.

  7. Jessie says:

    🙂 Love Pammie’s comment. Also what a beautiful rose!!!! Even better in the light you captured it!

Leave a Reply

