Yesterday and Today

In 1979 I asked my then 3 year old son what he wanted for his birthday dinner.  He told me, maybe with a bit of coaching, that he wanted lasagna and banana cream pie.  I wouldn’t have coached him to say banana cream pie, because I have never liked it.  I can’t imagine a 3 year old coming up with such a menu, but I know he did.  And every year since then, whenever he has not been at war, I have made him this same thing.  I made the lasagna yesterday, and the pie this morning.  I am still so full from lunch I can’t eat dinner.  That’s gross.  Thank God it is only once a year.

The 10 miles about killed me yesterday. I totally forgot how difficult that course is.  I am still hurting and bought Salonpas patches this morning… thought it was worth a try.  I don’t think it helped, but perhaps it did.

This morning at Mass, there was an announcement about an informational meeting about becoming a Stephen Minister.  I signed up for the meeting.  I have always thought of doing this, I will see how the meeting goes.  And if it is even possible for me to get the 50 hours of training.

I feel so far removed from those patients I loved so much at the hospital.  And dare I even admit, I feel so far removed from the newer women in the program.  My sponsor warned me about getting older and being sober a long time… we know we are just sober today, but the new ladies don’t.  And they want to be with people their own ages.  I don’t seem to have the patience for the drama anymore either.

I will pray about this and see where the Holy Spirit leads me.

Tantum ergo Sacramentum

Vereremur cernui:

Et antiquum documentum

Novo cedat ritui:

Praestet fides supplementum

Sensuum defectui.

Down in adoration falling,
Lo! the sacred Host we hail,
Lo! oe’r ancient forms departing
Newer rites of grace prevail;
Faith for all defects supplying,
Where the feeble senses fail.

This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Mass. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Yesterday and Today

  1. Syd says:

    Sounds like a great birthday meal! I hope that you are less achy tomorrow. I messed up my knee last week pressing 325 lbs. on the leg press. So I have been hobbling a bit this weekend. Hopefully, it will be better soon.

  2. Hope says:

    I had never heard of Stephen Ministries before so I googled it. I hope you get to take the training. I can only imagine what a balm you could bring to some hurting souls.

  3. Mary LA says:

    Your son will have so many good birthday memories of his Mom’s cooking — and the Stephen ministries sound like a great opportunity to share faith. Hoping for a good week for you, nothing too rushed or tiring, Mary Christine.

  4. Pam says:

    Thank you for sharing that. The drama just does me in these days. The new women think that I don’t know what it’s like…..because I am so “well.” When I explain that I am an addict just like them, they get scared ……”what? I’m not ever going to be normal?????”
    I love the dinner combo!
    LOL-I’m chatty this morning.
    Love ya My Mary.

  5. patty says:

    Hi Mary, just stopping by to say hello and catch up. How wonderful you get to make birthday for your son! I am making lasagna today too! No banana cream pie though, hope to whip out a few peach pies. Abundance of peaches this year! Salonpas are the bomb!

  6. Patty, Thanks for coming by, it is nice to hear from you. You are also making lasagna in the middle of August? Awesome. Peaches are my favorite. I used to make jam every year.

Leave a Reply

