Second Cup of Coffee

Each morning, I have exactly one cup of coffee.  This morning, I am having two.

At 3 a.m., I woke with a start to the sound of a loud argument.  I ran to the window to see what was going on and saw a car taking off, like a rocket.  It screached to a stop a few houses away, and a woman was ejected, shouting “Shit!”

Immediately, I recalled insane nights doing insane things in the middle of streets.  Somehow I don’t believe it ever occurred to me that there were people in those houses who were sleeping.  That I might be waking them up.  That for some of them, waking up in the middle of the night is nearly a tragedy.  Sometimes I feel that it is a tragedy for me, because I cannot go back to sleep.

I got up and had a cup of coffee.  I had a nice hot bath.  I turned on the heated mattress pad for the first time this season (it is 48 degrees outside), slipped back into bed, and tried to go back to sleep.  But I couldn’t.  Now I am having a second cup of coffee and will soon go out into the world – which will probably wake me up.

Oh!  My kingdom for the ability to go back to bed right now!

When I was younger, I was flailing about, searching for meaning in spirituality that made no demands upon me.  One of those things was palm reading.  When I studied my life line, I found that it is broken into three sections.  The first part is a messy line, then it breaks and a strong line continues, straight and true.  But that line also breaks, and then another line continues.  I interpreted this to be my drunken life, then my sobriety and new life.  I feel that I might be at the end of that strong period and heading into another.  My prayer is that I will be sober for this life too.  But it seems that it will be full of challenges.  That’s OK.

God has seen me through difficult times before and I have faith that he will see me through whatever my future brings.  I have always come to the other side of terribly challenging times and realized the priceless things I learned or how going through these things has changed me – for the better.

I am choosing to trust in that now.

Goodness Gracious!  Great Balls of Friday!

This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Second Cup of Coffee

  1. Syd says:

    Forty eight degrees? Wow. The summer is coming to a close there. Happy Friday,MC!

Leave a Reply

