Another Week

My neighbor gave me this solar cross for Christmas.  It soaks up the sun all day and then shines all night.  I think it is pretty.  The plant is my “normal” daughter’s.  She is away on a backpacking trip this week and wanted to be sure her lobelia was still alive when she returned, so she brought it here.  I’m a bit nervous about it.

The morning is cool, clear, and beautiful as we start another week.  I am heading to the treadmill until it gets light and then I will go out and finish my mileage.  I need to do the 8 miles I was supposed to do on Saturday.

And then to a library to do research.  That sounds like a great way to spend a Monday.  I am hoping to get an early enough start that I can take a late afternoon nap today.  We shall see.  I am utterly exhausted from the weekend.

I noticed this morning that one of my friends had responded on facebook to a long, ugly tirade about how evil and hypocritical the program is.  My sober daughter sometimes does this too (respond to others’ criticism).  I find it odd because of anonymity issues, and I can’t imagine being new in sobriety, or not sober at all and posting all kinds of critical stuff about an organization you may need for your very life.  When I was newly sober I did not care for everyone in the rooms, but I knew I was basically screwed without them, so I learned to be tolerant, and eventually found I had much to learn from even those I didn’t like.  I made a journal entry in my first 30 days that said something like “these people are so crazy, but I don’t want to be sitting here in 6 months, with a beer in my hand, talking about how crazy those people were!”

Yesterday I had a disagreement with someone, and I talked with him about it.  We are still friends, although I am quite certain we will disagree some more in the future.  Learning to do this was one of the greatest lessons of my life.  It enables me to be able to work with people without being a problem employee, to be a neighbor who is not causing disturbances every day, to be a family member who is trusted.  I don’t have to like everything about everybody in order to love them.  And I am called to love them.

For faith, hope, love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.  — 1 Corinthians 13:13

This entry was posted in Faith, Hope. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Another Week

  1. Syd says:

    I like what the closing says, “Although you may not like all of us, you will come to love us in a special way–the way that we already love you.” I thought that was really corny at first. But I saw the point of it after a while.

  2. Dave U says:

    I have a different point of view on certain aspects of the program than you do. That doesn’t make either of us right or wrong. We have had different experiences, so we have different viewpoints. That’s all. It doesn’t mean we can’t be friends.

  3. Mary LA says:

    In sobriety we learn to disagree with others while respecting them and staying friends. If someone is sincere, I am willing to discuss differences and one or the other of us might change our minds. But I don’t engage in heated debates online with strangers who might be trolls. Privacy and anonymity matter in terms of good boundaries and to protect ourselves and our recovery organisation.

  4. Pam says:

    It took blogging to help me stop the tirades. But boy howdy, when I’m in the shower, I can give the whole world a piece of mind. That works best for me now.
    PS: Tried thicker socks last night for my walk…..and yahooo it worked. I just don’t know these things and don’t know that I don’t know.

  5. Jessie says:

    I’m sure with Pammie. My tirades became much more clear when I began to blog, Then the facebook tirades dissipated, and so did the blog ones too (kind of) I still have some times when the brainstorm happens, I just hope they keep settling and smoothing out at the edges. I sure do appreciate everything you post.

Leave a Reply

