Friday I’m in love.

Friday morning hits me like a hangover.  I’ve had a week of excess.  Too much self-centeredness, too much sensitivity, too much depression to see the world right. (I thought I put a music video on this post, but I can’t find it.  It was Friday I’m in Love.)

I read Mary LA’s post today, and marveled at how she recalled her dreams.  When I sat down here, I remembered my dream from last night – much to my surprise.  I was told that my department was moving offices.  We were renting our own space, offices that would be spacious and private.  Our big manager told us that we could not do such sensitive work in such a cramped and un-private space.  I suggested an office building on the other side of downtown.  Not in uptown, but lower downtown (lodo).  It was where I started my sober career in my second year of sobriety.  It was all exposed brick and windows that gazed upon a park, the confluence of the south platte river and the cherry creek.  Oh, how I would love to work in that building again!  Or maybe I would just like to be that young woman again.  Full of hope and optimism.  I thought the dark days were behind me.

And someday soon, I hope to be reporting on the sunny days returning, and this darkness being in my past.  I know it will happen.  But for now, I am like a little girl in a darkened closet, feeling my way for the string that will turn on the light.

Just so, I tell you, there is joy before the angels of God over one sinner who repents.  — John 15:10

 

This entry was posted in Depression, Dreams, Hope. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Friday I’m in love.

  1. Syd says:

    It’s Friday and I’m in love too. Have a good one, MC.

  2. Dave U says:

    I know how grateful you are for WHO you’ve become.
    I hope you will remember that as your day progresses.

  3. Annette says:

    This past Wednesday in my art class the topic was depression. I wish you had been there with me. Each week I go into this class thinking how silly and how self indulgent and what a whiner to go and look at all of these feelings and such. And each week I leave grateful that I went, having learned something new. Depression sucks. Plain and simple. The picture of you as a little girl in a darkened closet is just so sad…..know that I am praying for you to be surrounded by light. Your name has made it into my God box along with many other beautiful faces and names.

  4. luluberoo says:

    This post is like an enormous sigh of TGIF. Rest, rest, rest this week end. Unless you would rather play, play, play. Either way, best wishes for a good one

  5. Mary LA says:

    There are dreams I don’t recall and dreams that make no sense to me, but the feelings the dreams bring up is often helpful. I know that longing that comes up in dreams for hopeful and safe times — such a poignant dream you had. Mary Christine I do so hope this depression lifts soon and you are in my prayers.

  6. Pam says:

    Maybe today you could crawl under your beautiful sheets and eat one of your home made apple pies. Yes, the whole damn pie! Now that my friend…..is good living! A little self indulgence today might be good sugar butt.

Leave a Reply

